Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Devourers

by Deozaan - Jam Entry

The game can be controlled with the mouse.

You control the swarm. Click the nearby planets to travel to them.

Known bugs:
Rarely, the background will be pure white. If that happens, press R to fix it.
You may have to refresh the web version before clicking planets will work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#125Theme(Jam)3.71
#219Innovation(Jam)3.35
#229Audio(Jam)3.39
#263Overall(Jam)3.40
#295Fun(Jam)3.19
#319Mood(Jam)3.21
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#434Graphics(Jam)3.26

Comments

LuxPerpetua says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49am

I dont get it, how to paly?

Deozaan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17pm

@LuxPerpetua: You control the swarm. Click the planets to move to them.

I've had one person report that they had to refresh the web version before clicking planets would do anything.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Cool puzzle game, audio was decent and the graphics where quite nice! It took a little bit of time before I understood what was going on and what I was supposed to do, I also had to click "R" one time as nothing happened when I was clicking at planets first (then I read your comment).

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59pm

That's cool! FEAR THE SWARM!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Fun take on the theme! Worked perfectly for me first time in the Iron browser (chromium). A nice puzzler :)

bb_buster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

The game was pretty good. I'd make a suggestion to display the controls somewhere at the beginning of the game as I didn't realise I had to click the planets until I read your own comment here.
Also I guessed that "R" reset the level as well when I messed up.
But other than that I think the game is a pretty good start, I like the fact that some of the levels have more than 1 solution too. Good job :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

The game is fun, but the issue does not call me much

Glaydur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice game. I would have played more if there was a restart button or a level selector and not just take you to the beginning each time I failed.

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice game, enjoyed the puzzles. Only complaint was wanting more levels :) Which is a pretty good complaint to get :)

Malapropos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Nice difficulty curve and fits the theme well. As avid puzzle game player, I thought it was fun to play.

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

It's a good story, I think I got what you want to say. Thanks.

xandy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

cool quest game idea. the music is great for the whole world domination theme

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12am

Fun to play. I like your take on consumerism =P

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57am

Good take on a classic style of puzzle. I felt like the art style choice obfuscated the puzzle design and maybe the art should've been simpler, but it gets the job done.

Zial Alsorna says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Good job, made me a little tense in spots.

Toubib says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

nice game, restarting from the beginning is a pain.

damrem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Good puzzle game, and theme very well respected!

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:16am

Liked the music, the puzzles are fun.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:59pm

You win the internets for finding the perfect theme for this classical puzzle form.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:20pm

very cool entry, definitely takes the theme literally in a good way.
Visually very impressive

Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:53am

Very fun! But very short! Would definitely play more if there was more. The galaxy background was very pretty and the music was very fitting. I liked that the level had more than one solution but that made it feel a bit too easy... Overall very impressed.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice little puzzler. The graphics could've been clearer, but the aesthetic worked pretty nicely after all. The music also helped create a really nice mood.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]