Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boulevard of Broken Themes

by Thingo Studios - Jam Entry

You are DUM LAUDER, an average guy dissatisfied with this year's Ludum Dare theme. You go to the Ludum Dare headquarters to complain, but instead get trapped in a series of parallel dimensions modeled after failed LD themes and interconnected by magenta doors.

Arrow keys to move, up to open doors, and space to do everything else. Press escape to exit. Gameplay switches between diverse genres such as puzzle platformers, maze games, shmups, and dating sims.

If you're stuck on "Under Pressure," check the comments.

Known bugs:
Lost in Space and Another World crash the game if the player misses the door.
You Must Leave It Behind does not display the level name.
NOT A BUG: Yes, you can eat the other players' potato salad. This is intentional, albeit highly impolite.

Fixes in next update:
All those bugs mentioned.
Change in movement in the maze levels so that you don't need to mash.
Additional music not procured from my ass.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#28Humor(Jam)3.91
#108Fun(Jam)3.57
#113Innovation(Jam)3.60
#186Theme(Jam)3.57
#294Overall(Jam)3.35
#512Mood(Jam)2.86
#535Audio(Jam)2.57
#708Graphics(Jam)2.34

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42am

Dude, i really liked your idea. Good job.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03pm

very clever and unique idea. Some of the puzzles (forgotten and under pressure, mostly) feel a bit obtuse. They might benefit from a hint given to the player after a couple of deaths.
Also, the game becomes unplayable if you pass the door in the Lost in Space world.

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:30pm

can't play on mac :(

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice idea and funny graphics! Good job!

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Impressive !!
Great job!

arhpositive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I couldn't get past Under Pressure, so I'll refrain from rating it and come back here later to find what I'm supposed to do. I tried to replicate two distinct tones in the music but that didn't work. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

@arhpositive
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtrEN-YKLBM

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Funny concept, but I agree with burgerdare: there needed to be some hints after a while.

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Error: Had to kill the process to exit the game.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54pm

This is brilliant! Hilarious, super entertaining as a whole. (wasn't a fan of the invisible character level though : ) I couldn't get past Under Pressure. I loved the idea and immediately knew what it was, but was having trouble actually executing. Honestly, fantastic work!

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:31pm

@Thingo Studios

Got it! Thanks :)

christopf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57pm

quite good way to handle that situation :)

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Item Get! :p
There is a ton of gameplay packed into this, congrats.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Very funny, I didn't get all the way through, but I'm gonna go ahead and rate it anyway :P There were a few bugs here and there, mainly some collision stuff. The under pressure level was evil, but it made me laugh! Great interpretaion of the theme, especially after all the complaints there's been :)

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Error: Had to kill the process to exit the game. <- this was an issue for me too!
Otherwise nice game, I enjoyed the simple graphics too :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

I couldn't do Under Pressure either, which made me sad because I wanted to do more of the game... maybe if you made it so you could access the first door of each sequence at any time? This is so cool and I really wanted to get to all of the genres you put in. I played the two notes in time with the blank spot in the music, but... nothing... :/

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

@Victory Garden, carlsommer, anyone stuck on level 6

Okay, this definitely is me guessing people are going to immediately recognize a bit of popular culture they're not familiar with. The four strings in the background in Level 6 correspond to the four strings on a bass guitar. To beat the level, you have to play the bass line to the song "Under Pressure" by Queen & David Bowie. (Or the bass line to "Ice Ice Baby," if you're into that newfangled rap music.) Hit the third string six times, then hit the second string once.

@borgi, Boberro: You have to press escape twice to exit the game: once to get to the main menu, then once more to quit. To my knowledge there are two levels where this won't work (You Are Already Dead and Love) but they're easy enough that you can get to the next level and exit.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Very inventive. Everyone in my family felt the same way about the theme, but you have come up with an excellent way to get around it and use it at the same time. Nicely done!

caranha says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Pretty awesome idea! Unfortunately I suck and can't get past the invisible character level :-( Maybe you should let more doors open from the beginning?

Played this on Wine, sound was not working.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Hilarious! I like how the actual levels and their design contributed to the humour rather than through traditional means. Would like to see more polish in a post compo version. You could absolutely release this with a little more work :D

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Hilarious :P. Saw this on EmotionTheory's twitch and had to check it out for myself!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I, for a change, thought of what Under Pressure would be like; I just forgot the tune itself. ^^"
Still, while I don't think it's particularly good use of Connected Worlds theme, it's a pretty nice meta game. Forgotten was particularly interesting.

Too bad it doesn't have saving (making me remember some password thing to type somewhere, grumble grumble) and in quite a few points it had insane keyboard mashing which I'm not fond of. Also, it could use something else than standard GM messages... ^^"

Still, that's a pretty solid entry. Good job covering the themes, in pretty creative ways, at that. ;)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:04pm

(but seriously, how do you *input* password; I haven't seen info about that anywhere)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Great develoment of the theme and lot of fun to play. Got stucked in the spikes level though.

Literal Games says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Really funny and very different. I felt super chuffed with myself when I worked out the under pressure puzzle.
I did only realise you could press Space to shoot in the space levels after dying repeatedly. Oh well.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Amazing concept. I got stuck on level 16, Forgotten. Really well tought levels, I wish there were some hints...

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:07am

I couldn't pass level 16 where I was told to input a password with the clue "line 1 of 4." My brain went numb after a couple of minutes at that level that I have to quit.
Very fun mix of genres! Also like the music!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Very funny to play

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Great idea and game. Although I'm stuck at 'Forgotten'. Being able to skip one level would have been really handy.
The bgm is short but cool, I just wish it would loop without a gap.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]