Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fairy Wars

by ambi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After compo deadline bugfixes:

- Enemy bullet patterns stop when they die
- After player death menu screen reappears
- You can only gain 100 shield energy
- Switching shields updates UI text
- Game informs you when the game is over now

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#681Audio2.47
#926Innovation2.64
#966Fun2.55
#997Graphics2.36
#1009Mood2.33
#1022Theme2.43
#1089Overall2.55
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

hypp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Pretty good game. I liked the concept.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Loved the shield switching mechanic. At the end there it got extremely hard.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Lol, it seems like Touhou-style.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:49pm

The concept is interesting, but the game gets hard too fast. Maybe you should give player an option to switch between two types of shields and two types of wearpon separately.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Decent solid game that got really hard towards the end. Felt like he moved too slow to be able to dodge well. Weapon boosts would've been nice. How big was the hit box- the whole shield area?

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Awesome bullet-hell idea! Love the mythology you used! Good music. Would benefit from some very simple backgrounds (maybe fidget around with pain.net's filters and such?).

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

The mechanic of switching shield/fire is interesting. But I found a little bit hard to have a full reset of the power when we change of season.
Maybe just a part (fixed or %) could render the progression not so fast but existent.
Here if we want to convert all the fairies, we have to stay at almost 0 all the time.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nice idea, but I think it's too difficult right from the start: the screen is full of fairies right away! Or maybe I'm just too slow ;) I'd suggest slowly ramping it up instead.

ambi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Yeah the hitboxes are off. The level and game balancing is off. I unfortunately ran out of time in that regard. Touhou and Ikaruga were my inspiration. Thank you for your rating!

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Wow, very hard for me! Im not a hc shmup player, so it might be okay! But cool idea, really liked the concept!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Those fairy faces are scary, the game start a little too hard, maybe a forgiven difficulty curve will be great

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:05pm

The changing shields thing was pretty cool. Game music kept playing over the menu music after I died unfortunately, but good potential for bullet hell game here!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very hard game, but interesting take on the concept and mechanics. Good job!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I just used the winter shield the whole time and shot every summer fairy before they even entered the screen. Didn't "convert" too many fairies, but made it to the end :P. Faster player character and a smaller hitbox would've made it more playable I think.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]