Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

LD30 - Connected Worlds

by donaldducky - Jam Entry

http://pyjamacoder.com/ld30/

Worked on a team for this one but we weren't able to finish it on time.

We have a bunch of sprites and more music to add, the boss fight is mostly setup but we weren't able to get the attacks in.

This is more of a work in progress but another version with sprites, music, splash screen will appear soon :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#388Audio(Jam)3.05
#468Humor(Jam)2.20
#621Graphics(Jam)2.77
#634Mood(Jam)2.56
#651Fun(Jam)2.50
#704Overall(Jam)2.63
#708Innovation(Jam)2.23
#716Theme(Jam)2.00
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Hi there. Interesting platformer. Lot of content there, good job on that!

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:59am

pretty interesting. I like the character design, and that there are different weapons, also the music and sound effects are pretty good. however, the game is way too floaty that it was hard to platform, and also you can shoot and swing at the same time which is a little weird. And i can't tell how this connects to the 'connected worlds' theme.
otherwise i thought it was neat! nice job

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

The controls felt very slippery. Otherwise a pretty good game!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:49am

There seems to be a little too much momentum on the character when I try to jump between platforms. I keep sliding off. Overall great job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:53am

Pretty cool, but I was able to skip nearly all of the enemies and pretty much cruise to the end, where I killed a huge skeleton from a distance and then not much happened. The game is well put together and robust, it's just the content isn't quite there. Great job making this in 72h!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:07am

pretty cool little concept, shame it wasn't finished yet. good music!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

A great jam effort. The controls were a bit floaty, but I was compelled to keep going in that way that Castlevania, Mega Man, et al used to make me feel back in the day. Exciting music. Nice work!

Satyre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Could become a great castlevanian game, when you polish it up. Mechanics are nice, even the controls when running fell slightly slippery. Nice touch with the world change. It feels save to be in the other world. Good job.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I like music and graphics, but controls worked a bit strange for me. The movements lags sometimes, and it makes difficult to jump on small platforms.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Pretty good platformer

vinull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I think I got to the end of what was completed (1st boss fight) but wasn't sure. I like revealing hearts with an ability - cool idea. The controls felt a little loose, and oddly chosen but I don't play too many platformers with the keyboard so maybe that's common.

Cash says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I can't understand the special attack,you become invincible and can get lives and you can continue doing that without limits,doesn't that break the game(or maybe it was an uncompleated feature)?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]