Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Realm Raiders

by RodRoy1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Realm Raiders is a card game entry for 2-4 players, all print and play rules are included. A post compo tutorial video has been added for those who don't like reading rules.

The idea behind the game is that you are a commander of a warring army hellbent on conquering three other realms, all four realms are connected by a tiny midway dimension and this is where the game takes place. The game gets really hectic really fast and all players will have to use large amounts of planning to make the battlefield work in their favor.

Finally I would like to thank Benjamin for making a fantastic web version. Go check out his entry here http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=2952

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#328Innovation3.45
#565Fun3.04
#619Mood2.90
#802Overall2.96
#1018Graphics2.32
#1045Theme2.36

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42am

Should be "Print + Play", not "Web". Web is for directly playable browser-games. Despite that, looks quite interesting, especially since I'm a cardgames publisher.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Thanks for having a look Yoda, I switched the link name like you suggested.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59am

Why not making a videocardgame like HearthStone... when the cardgame will be published! ;)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06pm

You don't see bord game that many around here. But when you see them the are pritty good after you understand them compleetly.

Hint: try the jam and make a videogame out of it.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

Do you place might on a spellcaster and then cast it on another unit later ? Or do you place it on any unit on action phase ?

if might have been placed or cast on a spellsword what happens on a clash ? does the spellsword pass the might to the other unit ?

I'm not sure to understand the uturn description.
if I must attach it face up on the target it means that once casted on a facing opponent unit it can player again and again on each turn since the target will be on my control. Is there something I miss here ?

Benjamin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

If I attach a might on an opponent spellcaster does it prevent him to play further spells ?

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:40pm

All spells are attached to spellcasters first, then cast on other units. If might has been cast on a spellsword then the might transfers on a clash like any other spell attached to a spell sword (even if this would put it on an enemy unit). If the U turn is cast on an opponents spellcaster, and that spellcater enters your control, then you can cast the spell again next turn as if it was readied this turn instead (Spells that are attached on spell casters by being cast on them have to go through a ready step). If you cast a might on a spellcaster, that spellcaster can cast it again next turn but cannot have another spell attached in the meantime. Each card can only have one spell attached to them, if a spell would attach to a unit and that unit already has a spell attached, then you cant cast a spell on that unit. So for example, if a defender had might attached, then a U-turn spell can't be cast on that defender as it already has a spell attached. Hope this answers some of your questions Ben. :D

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I do not have a printer :|

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Neat!

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

bonus for a card printable game! :D

Benjamin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:48pm

some other questions :
If might is attached to a spellcaster and then casted on an other spellcaster, on the next turn it can be casted again, but do the player HAVE TO play the spell ? and it goes the same for others spell, can I wait to play a spell until the best occasion or do i have to cast it when it's ready ?

One last question : Are spell discarded after one use ? I assumed that they were but after reading the rules again I'm not so sure about it.

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

there are games for people 20 years old, people 30 years old, people 40 years old, people 50 years old... and this game which has the true retro (REETTRRROOOOOOO) experience into the jam!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Here's some client for realmriders : http://benjaminsoule.fr/games/realmraiders/

I guess my understanding of the rules is not good enough so it maybe not 100% accurate, plz let me now about it

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:27am

WOW, thank you Ben, I cant believe you did this. I'm am amazed at how good it looks and plays. Sorry i didn't get back to you sooner i have been away for a few days. As a response to your questions, yes when a spell is ready you have to cast it. When you cast any spell on a spell caster it cant be cast till next turn. Any spell that doesn't get attached to a unit gets discarded after use.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:23am

Also I just found out who you are Benjamin and now I feel truly honored. I am already a big fan of your work. It truly is a small world we live in. XD

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Amazing card game. The client version is a lot of fun, too.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice idea :), thank you for the web version

dokidoki says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:27am

Took me a little getting used to, but it's pretty neat. I was surprised I won against the AI in the web version, but I'm not sure if the AIs were doing the "play a tile in the left or right area" option.

Code White says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:52am

Nice for using a 'platform' that stands out. Well done!

dunin says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:55am

cool for the web version! I don't know why I had seen again this entry, but I'm happy that I can test it! Fun card game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]