Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Daydream Runaway

by psychonull - Jam Entry

Escape from your own thoughts as soon as possible through the 7 worlds of illusion.

Controls:
Space Bar to flip

Tools used:
Framework: Phaser
Art: Photoshop and Piskelapp
Text Editor: Sublime Text 2
Sounds: bfxr and oscilab.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#217Humor(Jam)2.87
#338Fun(Jam)3.11
#390Innovation(Jam)3.02
#481Audio(Jam)2.79
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#587Graphics(Jam)2.87
#596Mood(Jam)2.67
#666Theme(Jam)2.28

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57am

Runs way too fast. Assuming there's more than one level, the first level(s) should be really easy.

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I like the gameplay. Nice graphics and mechanics. I had to try several time to win the first circle, because I didn't knew the brown traps decrease your coins.

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

@sol_hsa: I think there is a bug where the player velocity might slightly vary depending on the framerate the pc allows. Will check later.
@Satyre: Thanks, now we realized we never explained or made more obvious that the obstacles make you lose the coins.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

pretty cool. love the little guy

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Fun little game, it can be a bit difficult to get all the, well, whatever the things are you are supposed to collect. Good graphics, appropriate music.

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I like this! Although, it is way too fast. Especially the first levels could've been easier.
But, nice graphics, good audio, and very fun.
Hint: DO NOT update the game in the rendering loop!

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Awesome game. I managed to get to the level where you need to collect 16. Quite addictive, really fun.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Good game, simple & fun.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Mmmmh i think the controls could be better but nice idea

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice game, congrats!

jawm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38pm

fun game, but quite difficult.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Really like that rotating racetrack idea. Requires good reflexes! Well done!

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Very fun! Although a bit frustrating.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

Very cool! Fun to play. 2nd level should be easier.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Fun game! Very difficult but I think losing one coin when you get hit (instead of starting over) helps soften the blow. I got some choppy movement but no other bugs. Good job.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Nice graphics! Like other people said, it was kind of difficult.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

Really fun concept!

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:18am

Fun little game, though the 16 one got frustrating.

Appocket says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

A more detailed control would be really nice, have you already tested how it would be if the world was rotating and the actor has a fixed y coordinate? I think it could be more accurate to control it

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Somewhat surreal, but aside from that makes a pretty cool game (though I spent lots and lots of time on level 4; it literally took nearly as much time as all others together). Sometimes I felt like the game is going faster; must be related to that FPS thing.

Pretty cool idea overall, though the use of theme isn't too apparent. ^^"

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Pretty fun, ramps up the difficulty quickly.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:53am

Not my type of game. It goes too fast, and if you are on the inner ring, you cannot see what is ahead. Losing the rings all the time was really frustrating. People who enjoy this type of game will enjoy though.

But I liked how you go more and more out from the center, and something good can be made with this concept.

trekapp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:43pm

that was fun :)

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Nice graphics! The controls were so fast, so sensitive.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:06am

Nice concept and good execution! From level 3 it was rather difficult and I couldn't progress, but before that I was having fun. Good job!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:54am

Every time I was just about to ragequit, I'd continue just a little longer and make some progress. I like how rather than just dying and restarting, pickups just get returned to the playfield upon collision - it kept me trying when I was close but not quite nailing it. Third level and I was done though - a shallower difficulty curve would have been welcome.

Jacic says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:10am

An interesting idea, but a little too repetative.

brookman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:16pm

It wasn't THAT frustrating! Beat it after 15min. :)
Keep it up!

Fonserbc says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:09pm

This one is hard! But it's surely entretaining and makes one play again and again!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]