Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

IsoWorlds

by ob6160 - Jam Entry

Started my entry early on Saturday. Spent a while getting the isometric engine working and only had Sunday to implement the gameplay, because of this I decided to use Monday too so as to create the best game I could :D

This is a strategy game based around you supplying small 'builders' with the wood and stone needed to create to bridges towards their aim: an array of 'mystical' portals...

You'll have to set up a few wood and stone providers first before placing your builders! Each builder takes 20 wood and 20 stone out of your stores which need to be constantly replenished.

To select a tile to place click one of the images at the top of the screen!

I made this game on my own using vanilla JavaScript (using the html5 canvas api) and gimp. Also thanks goes to my friend for creating some of the tile images.

I recommend that you play in full screen!

If you wish to mess with the source code, make sure node.js is installed and then issue the following commands:

npm install
sudo npm install supervisor -g
npm start

Server should be running on 127.0.0.1:3000


Known Issues:
Running Slowly: Check to see if hardware acceleration is enabled in your browser: chrome://flags then enable Override software rendering list
Cannot select tile:
Click one of the images at the top of the page (the list of three), this will change the tile.
Crashing at 2nd island:
Sorry that was me! Forgot to commit the portal texture :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#335Theme(Jam)3.26
#430Humor(Jam)2.32
#572Innovation(Jam)2.70
#590Audio(Jam)2.17
#618Mood(Jam)2.61
#640Fun(Jam)2.53
#677Graphics(Jam)2.54
#704Overall(Jam)2.63

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40am

Gameplay is kinda laggy, how do i change my mouse pointer from buildings to smth else? Btw game completely stopped after 5 mins. Might be fun, but couldn't actually play it.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:48am

You select buildings via the 3 images at the top of the page, try clicking them

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:57am

Just updated the info. If it is running slowly please make sure you're running a decent computer and have hardware acceleration enabled in the browser.

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06am

Made it over to the second island-in-space, started to build my second bridge, and the game crashed. Are the workers supposed to eventually deplete the resources (trees, etc)? And on the first island, where does all the stone come from, anyhow?

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14am

This is a pretty nice resource collection game. Pretty buggy, but would be nice if polished and more options.
Here's all the bugs I noticed:
Houses can be stacked on top of eachother.
Placing houses next to eachother overlaps text.
Would be nice if text would disappear after a while.
people in houses next to respective resources do not gather.
Villagers gather from trees that are far away rather than the ones right next to the houses.
Would be nice if they moved faster.
Game was too big for screen, so I have to keep scrolling up and down and to the side.
Game crashed when I went to the second island.
Hope that helps!
Otherwise, it's cool and has potential. I also happen to love resource collection games and isometric graphics, so props to you

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14am

Ooooh sorry about it crashing, I forgot to upload some textures :D

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

@miziziz I wish I had another week to work on this game! Because I've never worked with isometric graphics before it took me a while to work out how to render everything so that left me with very little time to do the gameplay (bulk done today) Thanks for the comments, I'll definitely do a post-compo version, probably using webgl instead of the 2d canvas :D

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

I like your idea about building a bridge in between worlds combined with the resource collection system. I would have enjoyed it more though if the two worlds were more disconnected, I placed my builder on the left "world" and he walked over the void and started building the bridge from the other side :)

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Heh that's a result of my rushed gameplay ;)

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59am

Got that familiar Settlers feeling from this, couldn't wait to get to the next island :D I think the game looks nice and cleverly plays into the theme too.

Game ran fine for me.

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

Could use more polish, but that's one good little game you have here :D

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48am

I wish there was a little bit more to it, but very good job on the engine.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49am

The idea is nice, but gameplay and visuals may require some work.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Thanks for all the feedback guys :) next time I'll probably write an engine before I start because the isometric engine took a while to get working

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Good idea, and I like that isometric graphics.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Reminiscent of games like banished. I like the idea of setting up buildings and having AI take care of the task.
However after my builders build to bridges and said "yay found the portal" the game didnt advance to the second level. Dunno if i had to do something different... anyways could use a little more polish and more diverse buildings - but i like the concept. :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00pm

I like the concept, can see this game evolving into some cool kind of RTS. I'm looking forward for upgrades

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Thanks for the feedback so far guys :) I will, if I have time, look at a possible post-compo version (built from the ground up) but I have sixth form starting in a week so my time will be limited :/

bob_fish says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

quite fun, but is missing sound. What happens after you discover the portal? it just says: Yay the portal has been found. If you had more time, this could have turned out really well. Great job though for the time you had!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:50am

Interesting take on the theme! Runs smoothly, great AI mechanics, very well made. Great work!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:22am

Not bad, would be good to play a more polished version. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]