Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Bonding

by alvarop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my little entry for LD30. I had a very hard time this Ludum Dare. I started my game over 3 times (first it was a point and click puzzle game, then a platformer, then a puzzle-platformer... and I gave up.)

So, just to be able to say "I made a game" (and to be able to rate your games!), I went very simple. It might still be kind of buggy, and there is no music. Didn't have enough time to do more, to be honest (and my head is going to explode).

I'm not very proud of the result, as it's lacking gameplay-wise, but at least I didn't give up, which is good enough this time.

Enjoy?

CONTROLS:
Z,X,C : CHANGE FACE
GOAL : MATCH DAD'S FACE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#88Humor3.41
#380Graphics3.38
#443Fun3.17
#465Audio2.83
#534Mood3.00
#554Theme3.26
#618Overall3.15
#734Innovation2.92

Comments

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

Good work! This is a decent little time waster which really relies on memorizing the expressions/keys. You should be proud of pulling off even a simple game in 48 hours!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

Super cute! Love the artwork and animation. Those are the most adorable planets ever

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

It's a cute concept and I like the sketchy graphics/animations. Congrats on finishing also, I got stuck for awhile too.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

Fun and simple game greatly complemented with the drawn graphics

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07am

Those worlds are totally connecting! I like it!

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

Nicely done. Simple, but still very fun :)

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

Silly graphics make me warm inside.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

Love the sketchiness

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

I really like the art and animation style. It starts to get challenging after a bit, which is good, but I figured out I could just mash the keys and score about 100. Some sort of penalty could remedy this, but overall nice work for having started over so many times. :)

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

You can do pretty well by just spamming buttons right now. I would fix that.

Also, bring back Don One. We want Don One!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Adorable.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Cute idea, I like sounds a lot, and this skippy graphics

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Really good game. I've found exploit to get unlimited points.

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

This game is not waht I would have thought of for the theme XD Good job.

And thanks for playing my game on your livestream!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

This one is awesome. It's a simple idea, but the very nice audio and lovely crayon-drawings pulls it together. Could see this becoming quite addictive.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I love it! Maybe I'll try to bond with my dad this way!

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47am

This game's great.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:52am

This is actually quite cute. I'm glad you finished! My one big complaint is that when it shows you your rating ("Liked" etc.), any keypress instantly makes it vanish. Since you're almost guaranteed to be pressing a key right when/after you lose, you miss seeing your rating almost every time.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:32am

Fun, fast paced, really good for what seems like only a short amount of time.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04am

Cute interpretation of the theme and I actually love the graphics. Obviously the game is very simple. :) First time I played it, I already had the same face as my dad and it wouldn't give me credit nor progress at all? But second time I won with a score of 21. :)

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Haha, this is a funny little game. Clever idea! I like your spin on the theme. It feels quite a bit different from all the other games I've played thus far. Enjoyed the visuals and sounds. Cool style for a video game.

You going to work more on those other game ideas you tried?

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:37pm

@Drew Van Camp not really, I scrapped them because they weren't any good!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I liked the hand drawn art for this game. The gameplay is very simple yet funny and addictive. nice!

Tom Gardiner says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:58pm

This is great, I really like games where you can just spend hours trying to beat your highscore (and other peoples', seeing as you used the GJ API, which is awesome!)

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

This game didn't need music! It sounded like music when you got the right face really fast in a row.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Actually enjoyed the simplicity of this, think the hand drawn look worked really well with the context and could see this working well as a quick mobile game to pass the time. My best score without mashing the keys was 25.

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Quirky, funny little game. Great considering your time restraints!

smizmeal says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:04am

The main mechanic is clever. It could be extended to have levels where each new level introduces a new "dad" expression. I imagine it would be really hard past 6 or so.

Charming game!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Cute game :3 I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Cute little game. I am tolerated!

Snoother says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:35pm

A really cute little game. I know you had trouble coming up with an idea so this is kind of rushed, but I think that actually worked in your favour. It produced a small, austere little piece with a clever take on the theme and adorable in its simplicity.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Awesome little game. Loved the sprites and faces of dad planet. Great job :)

torvik88 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Sucks that you restarted so many times, but was fun :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:18pm

While the gameplay is indeed a bit lacking (and I've done better with buttonmashing than with concentrating), the cute art and the sound effects make up for it. I like the children-drawn style!

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Ah, this was super cute (and a good deal more challenging than I expected)!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]