Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

2connected

by leDragoon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second game for ludum dare, I hope it works better than the first.

note: you may need visual c++ redist. to run the game
(http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784)

The main mechanic of the game is the ability to switch dimensions. Both dimensions differ in certain ways and that can be used to your advantage.
------------------
Please note that even though I spent over 12 hours on the collision system,it still breaks occasionally. try switching dimensions if you get stuck.
------------------

tools used:
visual c++ 2013
gimp 2
audacity
random music generator

Edit: if the game stops responding, close it and launch again, or try running in compatibility mode if using windows 8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#776Humor2.00
#806Audio2.20
#948Theme2.60
#1016Mood2.32
#1029Innovation2.42
#1052Fun2.39
#1066Overall2.59
#1168Graphics1.92

Comments

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

When I run the program, I have a message saying me that the file MSVCP120D.dll is missing on my computer... I can't play your game.

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

you need visual c++ redist.

taviandir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Neat concept! The physics was a bit buggy but besides that I liked it! :)

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Same error here. Installing the MS redist from the provided link does not work either. Additionnally, you seem to already redistribute a version with your game. However it's msvcp110d.dll (not 120).

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

download was fixed

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:10pm

No dll issues for me, but it crashed continuously, not sure why, Windows 8.1 maybe? I had to sprint through level 1 just to get to level 2, which I couldn't finish without a crash.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Somehow I find this absolutely hillarious - I think it's the graphics and the jumping animation. Good concept, well done!

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Pretty awesome, I liked this entry allot. Great job.

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35pm

The collision isn't working at all, makes the game not very enjoyable ... I am sorry.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Getting same message as Quetzakol, despite installing (and even then "repairing") the redist package (I used the 64-bits one, since 64-bits is written in the main download link). Sorry. ^^"

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15pm

sorry cant run it on win 7

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Why you no Mac?

Pesty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

I really wanted to play this as you have followed a minimalist art style like myself - unfortunately still unable to run with the redist so I will have to give it a miss

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Crashes after level 3

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59am

Game seems interesting, but I really struggle playing it cause of it crushing and sometimes not launching

Endurion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Can't vote, as it breaks on startup.
Don't add random dlls millinilli. Either your game or your SFML version is the debug build. These require debug runtime dlls.
Try to add the release version of both.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:40pm

couldn't run this, it crashed when starting

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]