Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warp Corp

by seantheartist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Warp Corp is a single player game where players must build Warp Gates by carefully aiming and maneuvering around cosmic obstacles.

You are a contractor for Warp Corp and your job is to connect worlds of the Hegemonic Empire.
You'll face Black Holes (which pull you), Super Novas (which push you), and Raiders (who steal Credits from you). Complete as many contracts as you can! If you run out of Credits you're fired!

Your ship is equipped with a Warp Target (white and blue circle) which is controlled using the ARROW KEYS. Keep this
aimed on the red portal to complete the contract. Your ship is also equipped with defensive weapons.
These weapons rip holes in space-time to destroy cosmic obstacles. This is controlled with the MOUSE
and the LEFT CLICK to attack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#279Fun3.40
#403Graphics3.33
#425Overall3.33
#501Audio2.79
#534Mood3.00
#625Innovation3.07
#963Theme2.57

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Not bad :§

The push effect is pretty drastic, you'll be in the corner of the screen in a whiffy.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

Entertaining game, but I agree that the push effect is rather drastic.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

Really fun! nice polish, it looks great, it plays great. The push as the guy above said was a little too much, but it was still great to play. good job!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

Doesn't fit with the theme too well, but as a game of multitasking, it's surprisingly fun. I would suggest using WASD instead of the Arrow Keys though.

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:41am

Push effect is a tiny bit drastic but it was still playable. I prefer WASD to arrow keys, especially when I'm also using a mouse. Just feels more natural to me I guess.

Aevek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:10am

Honestly one of the most fun games I've played for this jam so far. Love the simplicity. The idea of fend off waves isn't exactly new, but I love the twist that they don't take away your health, but slow your progress. Makes the game very forgiving even on wave 20+ which I appreciated. The scaling and the pacing I really liked, it let me warm up to the way the game played, and the frantic pacing on the later 'contracts' really made this game for me. I love it. Great job.

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14am

Was quite fun! Nice job!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06am

Interesting idea and plenty challenging.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:09am

Good game, there's a lot to keep track of so it was surprisingly compelling. I'd also like WASD as an option for movement. Nice work!

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:38am

Interesting idea of controlling two reticule targets - though I wish that I could use WASD for the warp target.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:07pm

18 contracts, done!

Very well done entry, I liked how the game got gradually more difficult. Unlike others have said... I liked that the eye control was just perfect :) In my opinion pushing around made things such that you really wanted to get back there fast and shoot the enemies.

The graphics were really nice too.

Liked a lot. Cool entry, and just 48 hours time to develop.. :)

I didn't understand when the game would end.

Markavian says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:47am

Fun little arcade game. How do I get paid if there's no credits at the end of game? Why would anyone take up this job?

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:01am

I liked the art style and effects

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]