Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect your Worlds

by MrP123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My entry for Ludum dare 30:

You are a guy, that is addicted to all kinds of social media. If you stop updating the social media you use, you will lose followers/subscribors etc. If one of your stats reaches 0 you die.

Controls:
Mouse to click buttons.
Escape pauses the game.

What to do:
With time your social media stats decrease(cyan numbers).
It's your job to keep them from reaching 0, by pressing the corresponding button. But be aware, that raising one social stat decreases all other stats as well.

============================================================

NOT tested on Linux/Mac, needs Java 1.7+

If the web version is not working for you please check your security settings for Java:
1. Go to Control Panel
2. Double click on Java
3. Open the Security tab
4. Select Medium
5. Click on Apply
6. Restart your web browser

First time entering Ludum Dare, I'm happy with my game.
Sadly I didn't have enough time this weekend, so many things are missing. (e.g. sound)

Tools used:
Plain Java
Eclipse as IDE
Gimp for graphics
fragradio.co.uk for mental support

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#135Humor3.24
#279Theme3.63
#755Innovation2.89
#850Graphics2.63
#922Mood2.54
#986Fun2.52
#1066Overall2.59

Comments

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

Nice concept, IMO it fits very well the theme.
Adding some hover to teh clickable buttons would be nice. Like a hand or a glow :)

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Sounds like a good idea but I didn't understand how to play. Can you put further instructions?

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Simple and devil.
Actually the game is hard because we have no clue about what happened if we choose one or an other, it looks more artistic than a game.
But with some sound, and indication (climb speed, and decrease speed, with maybe point action) it could make a great management game with maybe a message about time and life.

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04am

Really cool idea, playable and fun in itself. Could definitely have used a little bit more time =)

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35am

Couldn't get the jar running. Something about my security settings disallowing it? Anyway, windows exe worked fine.

I really like the idea and I believe it shows what a guy working in PR must feel every day!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52am

Can't run it.. give me generic error

pansapiens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25am

Love the little animation in the background - he kind of looks happy doing what he's doing. I lasted ~4 minutes before, just like IRL, I decided to neglect Facebook. But I got to 1k imaginary internet points on Reddit !

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Wow! This is really fun game.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Decent entry with nicely done graphics. Not much to do, but it was entertaining for a couple of minutes. :) Keep going.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:33am

Very cool concept, makes you feel celebrity for a while :DD

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Interesting use of the theme considering social networks are ALOT of people's worlds these days! Nice sub

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Pretty cool game! I love the theme idea. This was my first Ludum Dare too btw! :D

Wesley Ding says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Has a lot of room for improvement. This can be developed further. Consider adding audio and making a better atmosphere (mood). Needs a storyline.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:36pm

It won't run on my mac.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]