Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Voyage of the Magpie

by tcarter - Jam Entry

A pulp adventure game of exploration and treasure hunting.

While in zeppelin:
click on destination to move there, or select from tickets at bottom of screen

While on foot:
WASD or arrows to move
Press into destructible objects to hack
Press Enter to skip to Repair phase if done exploring

While repairing:
Click and hold to weld pipes
Click, hold, and drag to repair canvas
Click, hold, and drag to sharpen machete
Flip switches to equalize pressure

Programming and Design: Ted Carter
Graphics: Lief Holt
Audio: Michael Jones

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Audio(Jam)4.06
#74Overall(Jam)3.78
#76Fun(Jam)3.65
#77Innovation(Jam)3.72
#189Mood(Jam)3.47
#361Graphics(Jam)3.44
#378Theme(Jam)3.17
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

biscuitWizard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Okay, I really liked this. Just the minigames keeps things varied. That world map, though. Pretty!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00am

Interesting mixture of mechanics. Good job!

Hairein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very nice game, the idea came across well and the gameplay mechanism is fun and extensible.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Really got a sense of wonder adventure, I can't imagine how epic this would be with a bigger map/more place to explore, great job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Hi there. Inspired by Donald Sinden, Journey to the top of the world ? If I recall the title correctly. I like the idea of the mini-games... wiggling the mouse to sharpen blade wears a little thin... Huge ambition, good coverage!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Cool game but it would also nice to know what is the final objective :)

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Took a while to get used to (and know what things were doing), but pretty cool once I did. Good job!

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Really good as a game. Reading that you meant the different phases of the game to represent the different worlds I think is a bit far fetched, even having it as the different countries you explore would have made more sense to me. But other than that very fun and well done.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Very ambitious, but as always the graphics are super tight, and the game speaks of a much bigger experience waiting in the wings. I have to say my favorite part was repairing the ship: gesture actions FTW!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:00am

Very fun, once you got the hang of it. It was too hard at first, but once I understood what everything did, it was about right. Until I understood what scrap metal did, and then it was too easy :-) It would be nice to have some kind of goal that I was working towards.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:01pm

really liked the art style you created here, really great color tones!

Fun game!

ghenoroc says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:30pm

I liked this a lot. This could be a fun full game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]