Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Exploding Space Snails

by Slothmachine - Jam Entry

Exploding Space Snails. You slide along the planet and leave your mark.

Game: Miikka Harjuntausta (Programming), Krista Erkkila (Graphics and Animation)

Music (by Stratusfear):
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/564871

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Humor(Jam)4.06
#114Audio(Jam)3.68
#243Graphics(Jam)3.72
#282Fun(Jam)3.21
#295Mood(Jam)3.25
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#597Overall(Jam)2.89
#695Theme(Jam)2.17
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19pm

most hilarious game i've played so far! Think it was the snail seemingly head bobbing to techno that made it work. This is something i want to show all my friends

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

THe snail headbanging is brilliant :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:43am

Nice entry, but i did not get if the planet were supposed to be black in some parts or it was a bug just for me.

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51am

AWESOME! So much FUN!

pinion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

I like how it looks like the snail is dancing to the music.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34am

It was a bit hard to actually get to play for more than 10 seconds, as the snails timer runs out so quickly that unless you by luck started snailing (yes that is now the official word for moving as a snail) towards the leaf instantly. I did like the game and the mood and graphics where the strong points of the game. Well done!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

The world was mostly black for me too, with only the nearest parts (usually behind me) being textured correctly. I think I also got two leaves at most after some tries, because the timer is so strict. Maybe the game could zoom out a bit when you collect a leaf, so you could maybe see the next leaf or atleast know where it won't be.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Shivur says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:24am

Interesting

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:29am

So, assuming the only objective was to draw on the planet until I died, it was rpetty fun. :)
Possibly a slightly more meaningful objective would have been handy, but regardless I absolutely loved the soundtrack. :D

cardboard says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:29pm

The soundtrack and bobbing snail head are awesome. I think some sort of goal would make this game more replayable, like telling the player how far they traveled. The leaf pickups look a bit out of place because their graphical style is different than the style of the rest of the game. The color palette of the world is very nice.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Fun game but did find it pretty hard. Most leaves I was able to get in 1 game was 3. But the quick play did work well in making it more addictive in restarting and trying to beat the count.

Kayelgee says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:38pm

I die so fast. Why did I only see part of the planets texture? Should there be fog of war or is this a bug?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]