Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Post Apocalyptic Postman

by AmmoreChicks - Jam Entry

This is a kind of educational game by which you can learn to recognize italian, french and japanese names (I know, it's not a very difficult task...).
I created a little sci-fi story with a surprise on the end to give more thrills. It's a very brief game and it's my first one made with Love2d, the Lua based framework (or engine, if you prefer): I used this Ludum Dare to learn its mechanics and some priciples of the Lua language. I lost a little bit of time during the effort but I don't regret anything even though my first purpose was to submit for the compo. Unfortunately on late hours I can't focus my mind so... I had to finish it the day after. But I posted the code, for anyone interested (consider that it's also my first game made without the help of a tool/visual ide and also consider that I used some cheap solutions like "copy & paste", instead of functions, only to complete the job and make it work).
That's enough. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Humor(Jam)3.20
#236Theme(Jam)3.48
#359Innovation(Jam)3.09
#425Fun(Jam)2.96
#459Audio(Jam)2.86
#500Overall(Jam)3.04
#553Mood(Jam)2.78
#638Graphics(Jam)2.70
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18am

Very fun & top notch attempt to the theme :D

havana24 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I liked the story about the new nucleus!
Theme matched perfectly!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice music! I was confused at first thinking the icon you used for the right arrow key was the ">" key. Other than that it was pretty fun!

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Great idea and nice result. Just a bit too simple in my opinion. Story is great though!

Banderi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Very cool game, fun and original! Mechanics are a bit clunky but ok nontheless.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54pm

That was rather interesting take at theme indeed, and moderately fun, but what about these poor countries in space? :<
(also, I can't help the impression that the author is Italian...)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

VIVA ITALIA! Very Fun, Very Funny! Good job and Good luck!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:56pm

If you have a lot of lines like love.graphics.* you can simply use

local lg = love.graphics
lg.draw
lg.print

That is faster to write and faster to execute!

Also there is a difference between the > character and the → left arrow key.
And you probably shoudn't waste so much screen space on the hud. It would probably look better without the grey background behind the buttons, having them simply float above the blue universe background.
Finally the top bar is totally redundant with the same info in the window.

"Please go away. Quit now, please." LOL
Although i already suck at differentiating Italian and France names, i guess the game could use some more countries. :)

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Oh and i used the 'code' link, because i am a linux user. You could also call it 'Linux / Source' (or maybe 'Love2d / Source'?)

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

lol - very funny, interesting idea. Easy controls and nice sound effects. It's hard being the postman.

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

Nice simple game. One complaint I have is that if you move right and then left too quickly, it will place you left of your starting point. Also, the icons you used for arrow keys were ambiguous - looked like angular brackets.
- qualia

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Thank you for the comments and the hints!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Intro was amusing, wish gameplay was more complex than a simple edutainment game :).

dix says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Nice game!! :D

AmmoreChicks says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 4:22pm

La pagherete! La pagherete tutti amaramente!!! Questi voti sono troppo bassi! Sono un affronto! E vorreste pure degli aiuti economici per mandare avanti questo sconcio baraccone! Vergogna! Dovete soccombere, luridi cani schiavi del capitale borghese!!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]