Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jessie and Jack

by rnlf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update: I added a version of the game packed with 7-zip that does not trigger Chrome's malware warning. It requires 7-zip to unzip though. Stupid browser.

Update 2: I moved the Windows .zip version to another server. Now Chrome only triggers a warning about an uncommon download but it doesn't delete the file right away :-)
-------------------------------------------


This is the story of Jessie and Jack.

Jessie and Jack are siblings and "inventors". They "invented" a teleporter system and wanted to test run it. Too bad, they are just "inventors" and not inventors (without quotation marks). The test run created a rupture in the universe and cast them both into different parallel worlds.

But these worlds seem to be connected by their faulty teleporter, so they can at least transfer inanimate matter through the ruptures created by their "invention".

Controls:

* Cursor keys for movement.
* Tab to switch between Jessie and Jack.
* Ctrl to use the item in hand (fire weapon or use it with upgrade terminal, use keycard with terminal).
* Enter to pick up or drop an item.
* Drop items into rupture to teleport them to the other sibling.


The game is written in Love2D (0.9.1) and should run on all platforms (love runtime from http://love2d.org/ or your Linux distributor is needed).

An executable for windows is provided for your convenience, no additional software required (but Chrome on Windows seems to think it's malware. Disable the malware filter or use another browser to download). This one also runs nicely in wine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#345Graphics3.45
#394Audio2.98
#471Overall3.29
#475Theme3.36
#505Humor2.40
#534Fun3.07
#630Mood2.89
#755Innovation2.89

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

can't play :(

Error: main.lua:18: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Hi!
Loved the scrolling tutorial, nice touch!
I prefer Z and X controls instead Ctrl and Enter plus using cursor arrow keys is a lot of hand movement, think in fixing that if you like.
Character movement is way to fast for me, too much acceleration i think.
Its a cool game, need some little tweaks!
Love your style!

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Hi pjimmy, you need love 0.9.1. Older versions don't work. You can use the windows version that includes love 0.9.1 (does also run in wine)

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I am on Linux and can't play the game as the framerate is too low (~1 fps in 5 sec.). The löve2d version is the newest, other games seem to run just fine. I noticed that the framerate even lowers in the beginning with the alpha blending. Might this be the issue? Sound is running without any problems.

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Sorry, I have not encountered that problem and can't reproduce. But thanks for trying to play the game :-(

vicious_br says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Very fun!

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

The camera is a bit too shaky to my appeal, but nice execution. What are the things that hurt you? Cats?!

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I like to think of them as hellhounds. But I agree that they do not look very much like hellhounds.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Movement is very, very fast. I'm not sure if that's good or bad, I think you get used to it.

You lose health very quickly and that makes it pretty difficult.

The scrolling tutorial text is kinda cool, but too long to be presented this way I think. Also, it disappears as soon as you stop moving. I think introducing elements more slowly, piece by piece, would be better.

The music is pretty nice, and the overall idea is cool.

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37am

Quite good! Liked the core mechanics and the fact that you had to choose between carrying a key or a weapon. Movement was a bit floaty though

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Worked like a charm on my MAC with Love 9.1. I really liked the idea of portals for items between the two worlds.

Controls were a little sloppy, but I'm sure with some playtesting you could get that worked out. Graphics were on great for solo/48 work...

Very cool!

sputnik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

love the gun!

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I tried the game out twice and I have to say it has an interesting gameplay. I liked the idea of sending keys and the gun from one world to the other.
However it was really annoying that I have to pick 1 item at the item and I have to drop 1 item at the time. While I liked the exchange of guns, I would have preferred each to have at least a basic gun so I don't have to keep switching.

That said, I liked how you implemented the screen shake effect it wasn't over board and the bullet stuff. But when I got my first upgrade with extra bullets if I kept holding Ctrl for long to shoot, it became laggier so I had to stop.

Another annoying thing were the roaches, they were extremely small and the fast movement made it hard to actually move in an accurate way.

All in all though I liked how you combined platformer and action mechanics with theme. It was a fun game despite the minor things.
Job well done :)

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Running Mac, Control-Arrow shifts the desktops ;)
This added another layer of difficulty to the game.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Forgot to mention, I like the game a lot, but the music was starting to get repetitive (to me) towards the end. I think you did a good job of pulling off the mechanic you were playing with. The graphics were effective and I liked them.

Good job :)

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02am

Was a bit laggy, but I like the idea.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Dat gun! :o

pLaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Good take on the theme! The two character mechanic is fun but the movement is way to floaty.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Neat little platformer. The controls were a little wonky at times, something about the acceleration I think. Other than that I had fun! You get a high humor rating just for the "inventors" story :P

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06pm

@dook, haha thanks. It was not part of the actual game (because of lack of time to add a real intro), so I am not sure that is actually fair, but thank you :D

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The game is sooo slow it's very hard to play (~12 fps on my machine), kinda kill the whole experience.

zeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:14pm

I'm having a hard time running this game in Windows Vista. Too bad, as the game looks really cool from screens.

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Sorry about the problems some people have. I don't have computer with Vista, so no idea what to do about it. If you can describe the problem any further, maybe we can work something out, @zeal.

Concerning the slowness of the game on some machines... I have no idea, but some people over in the IRC channel say it could have to do with some GPUs having performance issues with alphablending and shaders. So maybe an unlucky combination of Love2D's shaders and my game code break it for some people. Very sorry about that :-(

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

I really liked the style of graphics, music and sound effects. It has obviously a retro feel to it. I think you could give the controls to player in some other way instead of a sliding text. I couldn't get shooting work or couldn't find the weapon, I don't know. However passing items through portals are really cool and it fits the theme. Good luck!

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

commodoreKid, the gun is the thing directly behind the first gate in Jessie's world...

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Very funny and good design

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Good idea a la head over heels. Liked game and played although not until the end. I'll play tonight ;)

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Good idea a la heaad over heels. I'll save in my 'to play' games folder....

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice game, congrats!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Sorry, but the controls make it incredibly difficult to play on my Macbook. The Ctrl key is used for a couple of shortcuts, so if I hold it while pressing up or left on the arrow keys I'm instantly brought out of the game.

Other than that it was a pretty cool game while it lasted, and I liked how crazy the upgraded gun got. It felt really satisfying to fire that thing!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Cool game, it felt quite polished. I like the recoil from the weapon and the switch-effect. Reminds a little of the effects in the game Liero. The upgrade "More bullets" was awesome, haha! The puzzle designs felt a tad repetitive though.

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Cool game. I played the game with my controller, and yes, the controls were kinda floaty, but the rest worked fine. It's a fine platformer with some good level design. The only thing missing for me is some health packs, because I died a lot. Other than that. great entry!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Low framerate makes it unplayable.

jprogman says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:43am

I do believe the shell casings are the culprit for slowing the game down. I have a well-powered computer, but I'm afraid this game lags a bit when there are too many casings.
Very fun game otherwise. Wish there were opportunities to replenish your health. The entire presentation makes me feel like I was playing an old DOS computer game.

As for those annoying brown enemies, they look like scorpions to me. :)

JaJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:10pm

I had some problems with lagging as well. But I love your style!

Jedi says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:07am

Like CommodoreKid, I didn't notice the gun the first few plays through. I think the problem is that the gun is inaccessible at first, and I assumed it was decoration that had something to do with the moving wall.

After finding the gun, this was a very fun game! Loved the screenshake!

My biggest complaint is the camera - it moves too abruptly, and the character movement is fluid but squirrelly. Given that and some of the background... was this initially going to be a Sonic clone? :3

The enemies got a little bit repetitive near the end, but the audio was excellent. Overall, a solid entry!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:16am

Interesting gameplay concept but the controls were pretty awkward.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]