Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Space Trade Game

by callumW - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Space Trade Game


With the theme being Connected Worlds I went for a trading game where you move resources between worlds trying to make a profit doing so. Each planet has consumes and creates resources depending on its stats and buildings. The buy and sell price will change depending on how much is available.

As art is not one of strongest skills I decided to make all the textures at runtime using the built in perlin noise. The star systems are created randomly at the start and each planet type is based on its distance from its star. This creates a nice variety but sometimes you can get some quite hard systems.

I was worried I might of spent too much time on the generation and not create much actually gameplay. But even though I did not spent any real time balancing the numbers I feel there is enough of challenge of trying to balance ship traveling costs versus trade profits to make it interesting.

Here are the controls although they are in game to:

* Right Click and move mouse to look around.
* WASD to move camera or use GoTo on selected objects.
* Objects can be selected by left clicking on them.
* Deselect by pressing space.
* When a ship is selected right click on a planet to send it there.
* Don't forget to add the resources to the ship before moving them.

* F1 will reload the game( new random systems and resets progress).
* F2 will make the game fullscreen;

Update:
I understand some of this game is not that clear so wanted to explain some things further.

There is no win condition, the goal is to just make as much money as possible. You can how ever run out of money which means you will need to restart (F1).

When you buy a ship, it will orbit the planet. To select the ship left click on it. If you have trouble finding the ship the planet will have a list of ships in orbit and the you can click "GoTo" and it will zoom to the ship.

When you buy resources they are put on the planets local storage. From here you can move it to a ship from load and empty buttons on the ships in orbit list.

Then with the ship selected you can right click on different planet to send the ship there.

And forgot to add source last night just uploaded that now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#403Theme3.44
#695Graphics2.89
#864Mood2.63
#1023Overall2.68
#1062Innovation2.37
#1152Fun2.05
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:26am

Is there a win condition?

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34am

Hard to figure out what to do, and I'm not sure how to get more money/win.

Seems like it would be cool once I know what to do though!

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

Good entry. I appreciate what you were going for, as I did something similar. I bought a ship and couldn't figure out what it was for, though. I assumed it was to move goods from planet to planet but couldn't figure out how to do it.

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

first person view makes this game unplayable.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

EliteDare ?! I had fun trading at one of the first planets. I can see how this would become a time-sink, I liked the dynamic markets. Good job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Some good concepts and elements here but it was difficult to figure out what to do. Nice effort.

mataguiris says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Es difícil saber que hacer.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

гавно

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

It's planetary marketing! The first few times i started the game, it brought me to empty space, reloading the game didn't fix it, i had to manually find the systems. Over all it's a nice game, unfortunately no way to win, but i guess you never really win in the markets.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

nice 3d zoom in if you click on a planet. Nice simulation mechanics... but it is way to complex to solve it without having a tutorial... maybe you should provide a tutorial next version ;)

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:53am

Liked the animation and traveling between planets and ships. It's a bit too complex to figure out at first so a tutorial or example might help a lot :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:44am

The universe is impressive but the controls could use some work. Also i was having trouble moving the ship around and getting them into orbit. Still, nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]