Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DISPARATE

by Hoopsnake Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DISPARATE is an Obstacle Dodging / Constant Movement game about two connected planets that are slowly losing their energy source, and require the co-operation of 2 players to collect more energy. If one player loses, both lose.

Please make sure to read the in-game instructions.

The theme of Connected Worlds is incorporated in the story of the game and of both Human players controlling a player each on the same keyboard, sharing the same experience. Two separate entities sharing one common goal.

PLEASE NOTE THIS GAME IS DESIGNED AROUND 2 PLAYERS ON THE SAME KEYBOARD, BUT IF YOU'RE CRAZY ENOUGH YOU CAN CONTROL BOTH PLAYERS YOURSELF.

Didn't have the whole 48 hours for the unfortunately. I did plan on having Single Player in the game as well but due to some bugs had to yank that out at the last minute.

Post-Submission Bugfix 28/08/2014: Fixed Player Ducking allowing you to go through walls without being hit.

ONLY WEB VERSION HAS BUGS FIXED ATM

(CONTROLS)

Player 1
--------

A/D - Left/Right
S - Duck Down

Player 2
--------

Left Arrow / Right Arrow - Left/Right
Down Arrow - Duck Down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#390Fun3.23
#398Humor2.59
#515Audio2.77
#630Mood2.89
#715Graphics2.87
#781Overall2.98
#820Theme2.84
#855Innovation2.77

Comments

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

I like the idea but I really need to buy a friend to get the full effect. Enjoyed the funky visuals! :)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Hahah tried to play alone, its really hard!

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Hard to control with so little friction

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I wish there was someone around to play it with me because playing both together is hard. It took me a few tries to get anywhere, but I wanted to give it another go each time.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Thanks everyone, and hungyg that is something I tried to work on more but ran out of time :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Tried to play it alone like the other comments, difficult :) very challenging.
It was a lot of fun though, definitely gave it quite a few play throughs. I'll to find someone to play it with me and see how far we can get.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

No Single play mode? Solo playing is incredibly hard!
I can play only first few seconds but it seems good obstacle evading game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

soyliquid I tried to add a solo mode towards the end of the comp after originally designing for 2-player but had some code issues I couldn't resolve in time.

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Really nice, it's super hard to play on your own!

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Cool concept. Suggestions: Make it a lane based system where pressing/holding down the keys switches lanes. Some sort of a score system for getting so far (could be distance)

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I like the way when play with other person, it's funny.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Neat idea!

harko12 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Looks neat, and neat idea, but I don't have the ambidexterity to play it

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Nice game, congrats!

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Cool game - but too hard for me as solo player ;-)
But imho would it also work as a single player game...
Anyway, good work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Playing alone is really tricky))

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The gameplay is very fun, good submission! I think you could have taken the wacky colour scheme further and capitalized on the graphics more to make the game better overall, the starry background is fun and the whole thing could have been in a sort of neon disco sort of mood, as it is, it looks a bit placeholder-ish instead.

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Had to play both. Noticed a cheat. If I lie down at some point, I can lie down forever and not get hit by anythign.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Oh nice pickup locknic, that's def a bug I'll need to fix when I wake up, thanks.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

This actually looks quite fun, but unfortunately I don't have a second player available. And on my own, I couldn't even pass two obstacles in a row. :D I can easily imagine, however, that it's rather addicting once a second player joins.

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54am

A nice game! Very challenging to play on your own, but I can see some people getting pretty good at it. Nice polish with the sound and menu working so slickly :)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09pm

As others have said it's super hard by yourself, but it seems like it would be super fun with a second player!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32pm

add some more sounds (for when you hit the walls and such) and maybe a difficulty setting is appropriate :) Great game nonetheless.

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice! Unfortunately I had to play alone, there was no friend around :) So I tried being a crazy person but failed miserably, thanks for the game good work!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:36pm

It´s simple and quite fun. Pretty much impossible alone xD

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Super hard trying to play alone ;(

eastes says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Fellow Brisbanite! Thanks for making a 2 player game!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I like this crazy art style !

Trilby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Absolutely frustrating for a loner.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Ugh, what's with people and their multiplayer game ideas. It really reduces accessibility, you know? >.<
Audiovisuals seem pretty nice, but that multiplayer spoils it to me completely. :<

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I tried to play alone, hadn't gotten far :D There are some places where you seem to be able to get through the walls without dying. But 'tis a fun game and thank you for the Linux build.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:38am

I was crazy enough to control both players at the same time. The game made me work hard and I failed miserably! Nice concept and take on the theme. Well done!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Really fun, insane, game! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]