Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DreamRun

by meishijie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A man run in the dream, you must collect the right bird to survival.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Graphics4.13
#306Mood3.29
#581Theme3.22
#585Fun3.00
#684Overall3.08
#768Innovation2.87
#786Audio2.23
#2202Coolness0%

Comments

ming_tea says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:26pm

This is gorgeous. And fun!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18am

Simple fun concept and the artwork for this is beautiful.

toranoko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

Great graphics! but difficult

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38am

This is awsome. Great artwork and idea. I think we have the same mentality of designing :) Thanks for made this game.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38am

Gorgeous with simple core chellenge. When playing, it seemed easier to play just with switching colors, jumping made it feel more confusing.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Very nice graphics, good entry.

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I thought this was pretty cool, if a bit repetitive. I've seen this Ikaruga phase mechanic interpreted in so many different ways this jam. Makes me wonder if there is a fundametal set of mechanics.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

Nice art and game.

leafarz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

wow great visuals! although it was a bit difficult because the white objects blend with the background.
pretty difficult game it was hard catching the objects that requires you to jump!
i think this just needs some rebalancing of the mechanics. but still the game is beautiful! good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Very nice game here. Nice play on the theme and an interesting runner mechanic. Nice job.

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:31pm

The graphics are really amazing. That's too bad that I find that it is the only really good thing in the game. Jumping is useless, you only need to switch colors, and I first thought that the two connected world was the character and its reflection, but the reflection is only here as a decoration apparently. With more ideas it could become a good game, as it is already really beautiful.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I must admit I didn't expect that kind of gameplay with a background like that. It was a simple but effective one. Too bad the sound effect is unpleasant, it breaks the tone X).

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Ikaruga: Bullet Eater mode :P. Didn't feel like jumping either, just switching the color worked better. Also the birds coming from the lower part of the screen were quite hard to see in time.

[email protected]

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:03am

Cool innovation, nice graphics. Good job!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:06am

I loved the artwork and colors. The concept was good, but the game was too easy if I just switched between the two and didn't jump.

sephyka says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:24am

Very nice and poetic graphics. The gameplay is simple and a bit easy and repetitive. What a pity you didn't work the sound to improve the mood. The feedback songs you used aren't very pleasant and break the beautiful mood you've created.

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Neat game. Very nice colors and minimalist design.
It's interesting that because you jump to get some of the birds, you inevitably skip some birds and have to make sure you account for that when switching worlds. Simple, and fun. :)

marvalgames says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Well done. Easy to play. Nice look

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Very nice entry, I'd prefer if the game had a finishing line and not just repeating over and over again.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]