Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

the HEROES quest

by enderosc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, i'm EnderOsc i'm 9 and this is my 3rd ld i'm super exited this is my game i hope you like it :)
Your character/the hero comes from a dark and colorless planet and there was a war between 2 planets the heroes parents died but before he got killed he was thrown onto another planet, help him get home.The first level use the arrow keys, but the second level use the left, right, and space bar to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#219Humor2.96
#464Mood3.10
#611Innovation3.09
#643Theme3.14
#654Overall3.11
#667Audio2.50
#699Fun2.88
#868Graphics2.60
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

once again, i am super proud of you oscar, well done working through the bugs and learning new ways of getting things to work in scratch!

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Wow very impressed that this was made by a 9 yr old! Definitely a solid entry!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17am

this is pretty cool. It reminded me of playing Atari games. I couldn't get over the spikes on the second level

suyoku says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Definitely impressive, exciting to see people participating at such a young age

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

Nice to see someone participating at a young age!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:09am

Nice job! 2 types of levels in one game :)

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53am

Nice and hardcore! Thanks!)

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I wish I was doing this when I was 9. Keep it up!

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50am

That's cool. Can't believe it was made by 9 year old! Thanks.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16am

I like the background story and I enjoyed a lot the double gameplay.
A really nice start, I'm looking forward to play your next projects.

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49pm

@intelligentbean: same. It makes me want to grab an old 2600 and play same games :D

This game is stunning, given it was made by a nine year old. I bet in a few years you will kick us all out of the competition.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Pretty awesome stuff. Really awesome work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Impressive! Keep it up.

AdricZero says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Keep up the good work.

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:33am

okay, this is a hard one. Its awesome that this is made by a 9 year old. I wish i had a kid like this. But this is a "competition" where everyone is equal regardless of race, religion, sexual orientation or age... so i did my honest ratings, and all my respect.

dook says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I wish I made games when I was nine :) Feels like an old school game, and really hard too!

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I like how your games develop. This time it was much easier to understand what the objectives were. The double jump mechanism on the second level was really evil but after some tries I got so good I even managed to jump over the goal and get a bit lost at the far right side of the screen. So if I'd give you an advice, it would be to draw a clear goal-zone for each level. But that's a minor thing, it was a really good game.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Well done !!

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:49pm

This is so cool! Congrats, little man!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:13am

I like how you combined top-down with side-scrolling! Reminded me of one of my favorite games on GB: Gargoyle's Quest. There seems to be a bug with the jump though (I can't land back). Mastering the required double jump to go over the spikes is tricky but really rewarding!

It's a really nice entry and man, I can't believe you are just
9 yrs old! I was barely learning to use a computer at your age and here you are, making games already! Wow!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Cute, I like your game more than your dad's xD

Tosic says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Really good, I like the retro style, very good, I would really like to see some more of you, BTW, I am like 2 years older than you, so I am glad to meet an another young person! :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great to see someone so young taking part in Ludum Dare. I hope you keep at it. I wouldn't be surprised if you rank higher than your Dad one day.

dylanigan says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Impressive!

barryrowe says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:32am

Awesome job, keep it up!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Solid game :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Impressive. Keep it up, I'm sure we'll see more from you in the future :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]