Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

CheckPoint

by DanqueDynasty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CheckPoint is a game that is casually blends difficulty with pointlessness. Prevent the hostile mobs from crossing your checkpoint, whilst avoiding hitting civilians. [You must run Checkpoint.exe when on windows, Checkpoint.jar will not run.]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#556Fun3.05
#667Audio2.50
#992Innovation2.50
#995Overall2.73
#1102Theme2.19
#1135Graphics2.05
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Unfortunately I cannot get the game to run on Windows 7 - 64 bit.

DanqueDynasty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:58pm

What error are you getting Jvdo?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36am

It's simple yet I found it challenging controlling two ships at the same time. Would be nice if there was a clear consequence if you miss a red ship. Also, there are times when I could not avoid hitting a civilian because it is on top of an enemy. Still a fun casual experience!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

very challenging, it would of been nice to see some better visuals but what you had served it's purpose.
Congrats, you're the 60th game I've played, only 2000 more to go... hmmmm

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Web version doesn't run Chrome/W8... click play changes screen, then any click/key goes back to menu. No mob movements at all. Not rated.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Downloaded it and worked on Linux. Quite a simple game.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Pretty addictive once I figured out what I needed to do (and not do). 72 was my best score - not sure if that's good or not though ;)

Benjamin says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:26pm

my best socre : 98 ( 4 plays )

First of all for the other players : This game is not a 2 player game, you actually have to play both ships. This is more simple than it looks because most of the time there's only one red ship coming at the same time.
This is very fun to play, even if the core idea seems simple.
Congrats

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:30pm

A challenging game with a pretty arcadey feel. Since there weren't any instructions, it took me a round before I realized what I was supposed to be doing. The music was okay, but I didn't really think it fit with the game that well. It would probably work better with something that pumped you up and got you "in the zone" of finding and shooting down the red ships.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Quite fun and challenging to play once I got the idea. Would benefit from some additional mechanics for later levels.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Having a web link which just links to a download page is pretty lame.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]