Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Marriage Counseling - WeaselZone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After countless marriage counseling sessions, it is time for some more extreme measures: A bonding exercise!

Can you save their marriage? Only one way to find out!

Play this game alone with both your hands (as intended) or get a friend to help you out!

Thanks to everyone who stayed and on the stream and motivated me!

---

Used Unity Editor Extensions: ProBuilder & ProGrids

View WeaselZone's journal. | View all entries by WeaselZone

Ratings

Humor4.67
#14Theme4.28
#40Overall3.98
#47Fun3.89
#54Audio3.76
#87Innovation3.93
#108Mood3.64
#215Graphics3.68
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Draegast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16am

GOTY 2017

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Fan-bloody-tastic! Great played as a two player co-op game, although my wife and I kept ending up divorced, although eventually she called me a magnificent beast. Splitting up has never been so much fun.

Nathandow6010 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48am

all in all its a good game for getting tantrums :D

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

You have the humor factor maxed out here :)

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Wow that was so great!
I absolutely loved the setup and presentation. The audio was probably the best part.
The intro sequences are just gorgeous.

Honestly, I didn't make it through the restaurant. I tried but ended up getting divorced. This might be one of the very VERY few things I'd love to see improved: difficulty.

Great entry!

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Fantastic game, made me think of Octodad a bit which is a good thing.

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Fun and frustrating, just like marriage!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

THIS GAME IS FREAKING AWESOME xD
I played it with my wife as intended and it was really awesome ;D
Its like double bonding exercise! Bondception!

Hat's off to thou, good sir ^^

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

And, yeah, I'm looking towards more levels!

acerunox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Funny game! Great voice acting 10/10.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Really fun and quite funny! It's rather challenging, but super charming and I'd recommend it. I haven't beaten it yet, either!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

So. Fucken. Funny. I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

Alex Vixgeck says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19am

This. Is. Epic. You, magnificent beast!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I absoloutely love it! I played this with my mum and we got divorced fairly quickly. It's actually fun to knock over the furniture...

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Genius.

Inateno says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

I'll laugh all the day thank you. Awesome idea

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Hi there. That restaurant! Great look and feel and physics. Love the voice artistry! Mumblerama. Good job!

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

What a great gameplay. I love it. Really really big thank you. And your voice acting is incredib, too, like last LD.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

So funny, thank you!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Oh we just saved our marriage! Brilliant idea!

Yword says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very unique and interesting idea! The overall mood is quite good and funny. Well done!

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:47am

Great Entry! the intro scene and the audio really made me laugh. Controls are a bit washy and it was really hard to manage the first levels.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:56am

This game is awesome. Loved the dialogue and the idea. It also took me a while to beat the level without divorcing (GTA style :P).

Superb entry, great work!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:16am

I couldn't even beat the 1st level, maybe because I was laughing most of the time XD Great game! :D

Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:52am

Took me a while to figure out how the directions worked, but this was hilarious. Hope you do continue it!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:13pm

I could get through the restaurant after my 86395592457th try and it wasn't that hard y'know :P I think difficulty is a problem and controls are another. Because I discovered later that you go top-left direction when you push up (I guess it was like that) I would expect to go up when I push up tbh. Good humor and fine graphics.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Ahahahahaha, that was great.

hadesfury says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Great game :D the command does not seem to answer well during my session but it could be me

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Oh, hello, my old arch-nemesis, so displeased to see you again... *said me to isometric view*
Really, I'm pretty sure large part of the difficulty in this game comes from the perspective; it took me a few really careful attempts.

Aside from that, it looks pretty interesting and humour is strong within this game... but difficulty. That difficulty. And, even more so, perspective. >.<

Bonus points for taking the theme to its hilariously literal extreme, though.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:07pm

We played in coop with my girlfriend and didn't manage to save our mariage. We laughed and argued, that was really fun! One of my favorite in this LD. So many stars!

Esenti says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice game, but I've found the controls to be quite confusing.

Birke says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:49am

I'm a magnificent beast! Loved this entry. To start with I think it was a bit too hard but when I discovered there was only one level I understood why you had made it that challenging.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Really frustrating controls playing solo, but table for one always feels pretty bad :(

Snoother says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Okay, that was stupidly fun. Always ended in divorce though. It's probably for the best. Love the clumsiness of the controls.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Octodad just with planets instead of an octopus? COUNT ME IN!
Really great work on the visuals, the dialogue and the controls. Even playing alone it's an unforgetable experience :)
I even forgive you the missing music, because of good sound effects.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:18pm

5/5 humor, that was hilarious! First game I played that made me laugh out loud.

sephyka says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:18pm

My god, this is fucking good and hilarious.
Great staging.
Ahahah, it's very goood.

Simon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:48pm

This is the next Octodad! It's really cool to play and I laughed so hard. Well done! My favorite so far :)

Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Veri good idea, original and well made. It's very funny and i like your "staging" and the camera effects you used during the dialogs. Humor is too often limited to a written joke. First Ld game which make me laugh.

xRubbermaid says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Loved it, but I'd have preferred if damaging things wasn't penalised - it's too tempting!

Jod says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:52pm

That's extremely witty. Well done. :)

Joror says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Too funny. Love the voices. Game a bit too hard. But still tried multiple times because I hoped there would be more voices. Alas. Good fun tho! :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Haha this was great. Loved the voices. It's very difficult but I almost made it! I think some awkward music would really tie it all together. Good job!

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:17am

A++ would divorce again.

kill0u says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Best game ever to play as a couple :D
We had so much trouble, but we did it!

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:17am

Erm... I destroyed the restaurant and got divorced almost immediately. It was hilarious and please tell me what kind of drugs are you on.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Loved this game. It had me laughing out loud. I want to play more levels!! :D Now going to force my husband to play it with me :) Brilliant stuff.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Definitely the funniest game of the jam!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:16am

Haha, that was pretty funny. Would be fun to have a free play mode too where you can just crash into everything :)

lotusgame says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Fantastic ! So funny, original and very well made. A must see :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Super fun concept! Usualy I don't like when people interpret the theme too literaly, but in your case its so literal it's hilarious!
The game was really short, but since it was also really hard it made up for having only a single level.

fizzd says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:53am

Wonderful! This was fun, and hilarious intro sequence and premise. Would be nice if when we failed, letting the user wreck the restaurant out of frustration instead of forcing an immediate restart. But I was happy to get to the end with a strategy of going full speed and using certain tables as bumpers. Great fun!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Greatly executed concept and very funny to play

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Love the humour and the narration ! The QWOP-like (or octodad-like) is not my style, but very cool game !

MercuryLegba says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:28pm

A well deserved silver medal!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]