Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gravitous

by MaesK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Gravitous! Travel through planets gravity fields, while avoiding empty dark space!

Your mission is to destroy the evil robot empire, pressing the huge red panic button on their home planet "Potato Salad". Good luck.

Controls:
Arrow Up = Engine
Arrows Left and Right = Direction
Space = Shoot!
R = Reload stage (available after death)

*Use this map below if you need it. Be careful with gravity!
*Note: There is a hidden powerup in the galaxy...
*Oh, and there are save points (green bases) over some planets' north pole. Use them to remember your coordinates and respawn there!

----

Whoa, that was close. I barely made it. I had close to no time this weekend to create a game for Ludum Dare, but I managed to improvise something in roughly 8 hours between these two days. Headache included! :<

I hope you enjoy the game!

EDIT: Protip: If a planet's gravity its too strong, try to abandon it by a spiral trajectory (left or right, then up little by little). It will be easier than fighting gravity head on (only upwards) :D

EDIT2: A gif!
EDIT3: Change of picture order

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#314Audio3.13
#460Theme3.38
#477Fun3.13
#593Graphics3.05
#618Overall3.15
#750Innovation2.90
#755Mood2.76
#761Humor2.04

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

This was the first entry I played, and it's got me psyched to keep going. Fun mechanic, great music, retro sound effects all make for a great experience.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Black holes... we need black holes. Oh and asteroids/moons.

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Thanks for the suggestion! I'm afraid dark holes didn't make the cut on time. Maybe they'll enter on Director's Cut version (or an evil DLC) :D

Mmm moons and asteroids, that might have been great!

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Man, that was really fun. I love the gravity wells combined with that style of turn and jet gameplay. Kind of wish the field of view was a bit larger, but otherwise really well done. Great use of the theme as well.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

That's a fun game, but hard as hell, at least for me ^^
It's particularly tricky to get away from the big red sun!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Those are some wild physics! I found myself lost a few times, but the map really helps. The visual effects and chunky sounds were nice.

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Nice concept! It seems to a little strong gravity, but it feels the power of nature to me. And good music.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28pm

The gravity felt a little too strong on some of the planets, but overall it was pretty fun to fly around. I liked using the planets gravity to slingshot the spaceship across the map :P

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:05am

Love the concept, a game really funny as well as hard xD Maybe the gravity is a little too strong in some planets, and a in-game minimap would be nice. Keep the good work and nice entry!

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Really fun experience, thoroughly enjoyable blast. Particularly satisfying setting up orbits to exactly collect the power ups. Liked the balance between aiming and thrusting and how you couldn't do both in the directions you want to simultaneously. Definitely nailed the theme and the music was great, enjoyed it

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:13am

Great graphics, fun gameplay too!

noffle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Man, this was tough. I wasn't able to beat it, but I really enjoyed the mechanic of sling-shotting yourself out of the gravity of the larger planets to get some great speed. One thing I would have liked to see was a health bar or how close my ship was to destruction -- I found myself dying quite suddenly from a stray shot. Overall, good music, good use of the theme, and what feel like the beginnings of a really fun game.

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03pm

I think the basic idea was quite original, but it was nearly impossible to go where you wanted after the first planet.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:38am

Gravity worked very well; the concept is excellent and fun. It could be developed a lot further.

I always think these asteroid games are easier when the player is always centered and pointing up.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Really cool little game, I would suggest also making WASD work for movement (with Unity that's easy) and maybe a slightly clearer overall objective next time, but otherwise this was a really fun game. :)

Ventura says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Lol, i really love the idea of the game and the mechanic. I didn't know that when you go out from the gravity you lose life, I didn't like because it didn't make sense. When you crash with enemies at high velocity should cool that you destroy them and you lose a little life because otherwise you stop in the air and crash with the planet. I liked a lot the game and it looks quite interesting, good job!.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:07pm

While nothing really stuck out for me, I did enjoy flying a ship in the orbital gravity of other planets.

Fazz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Nice idea. Really hard to control the spaceship.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:28pm

The attraction is a real cool mechanic in this game.
The difference of graphics between pixelated units and textured planets create some strange mood.
I found the same opposition between the cool music and the harsh sfx.

Maybe it's lacking a bit of power up, it could have been interesting to get them from the destroyed sentinels.

Just seen you did it in 8 hours, great work.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:21pm

The planets gravity seems a little but much but I like how this plays. And the audio is pretty good! Well done

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:44am

Great job for 8 hours of development! You even got audio on it! First time I played I got stuck on the surface of the red planet, but then I saw your map and indications which helped clear my confusion. Well done!

Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:19am

very nice

runvs says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Nice Entry. Could use some polish and some balancing, but I kind of like the game concept!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:27am

Nice gaame, should tweak the gravity a bit better cause i would smash into planets. Nice work thought! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]