Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

co.NEKTD Worlds

by taocayo - Jam Entry

And we made it!

This is our third LD, and our FIRST time doing time-management (or whatever this game is, at this point!) so please excuse all issues with balancing, bugs, and lack of sexiness. We had to simplify our idea enough to make it before the deadline. Anyway! We had tons of fun yet again, and hope you guys have fun with the result, too :)

Tools:

Unity 4.6
Photoshop CC

Backstory

Act fast! Timing is everything in co.NEKTD world!

You have been hired by new social network co.NEKTD for 24 weeks. Your mission: connect all planets via users! Spread the word by using marketing or introducing new features and/or design. But do it FAST - The world does not wait and the users are everything!

More users bring more money. Also, users create HYPE - which spreads through planets and the galaxy in ways technology, marketing, or money cannot.

Only HYPE can connect worlds. Good luck!

Instructions:

You have to carefully choose between four options to use what little cash you have :

* Develop a 'New Feature' that will enhance (or break) your software
* Change the look of your site with a 'New Design' and hope users like it.
* Market your product with 'Adverts' and gain new users or (dun,dun,dun) 'alienate' them.
* Pull a publicity stunt with 'Endorsements" and see how users react to celebrities!

Controls:

Mouse left click on the buttons.
To pause: click outside the game (sorry!)

Gameplay details:

Chances of succeeding for each option:
*New features - 80% chance of good outcome (Moderate cost and moderate gain/loss in userbase)
*New design - 35% chance of good outcome (Cheap but little gain/loss in userbase)
*Adverts - 60% chance of good outcome (Moderate cost and above average gain/loss in userbase)
*Endorsements - 90% chance of good outcome (Expensive and all-or-nothing in gain/loss in user base)

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Graphics(Jam)4.00
#146Audio(Jam)3.57
#259Mood(Jam)3.32
#260Theme(Jam)3.43
#456Innovation(Jam)2.91
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#686Fun(Jam)2.39
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Nonameghost says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

Cool stuff! Took me a sec to figure out what exactly was going on but then it was pretty fun. Visuals were definitely a high point! Awesome!

Marjie62 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

No feedback when I did things. What causes :) and :( to appear? Is it correlated with choosing the 'right' thing to purchase? Unrelated?

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

Marjie62: Yes, the faces are related to choosing the right/wrong things. Some choices are received badly, others are received positively. Headlines give a clue on what is the best choice is at the moment :)

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38am

Graphics look beautiful. Will you make a Unity web version?

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

Deathray: hey! Thanks for stopping by. Sadly, we are using Unity 4.6 and it doesn't have a web player yet (beta stuffs). It has to do with the new UI :( sorry about that!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

Being a interstellar social network was pretty neat! I kinda just stumbled my way through and won fairly easily though, but I'm sure you're aware of that and would fix it given more time. Loved the concept and presentation, that was some good UI work right there.

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

Update! we added the web version. Hopefully it works for you regardless of the warning message on top of the screen.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29am

Beat it, although I wasn't exactly sure what I'm doing :) Nice graphics!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

Really unique idea. Didn't feel like I was in full control, but I guess that's sort of the idea. Managed to beat it, though just barely - outgoing was higher than incoming by the end :P Music/visuals were top-notch!

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02am

the mood, audio, and graphics are great. the gameplay is sub-par, unfortunately. I only played 2 games, but i feel like no matter what i did i would win. the idea is pretty neat, but theres so little to it that it just feels incomplete. otherwise it was really neat! nice job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]