Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Worlds

by ViKing Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two Worlds is a small, NES-styled Metroidvania in which you can swap between two characters at any time. However, they are separated in different yet connected worlds for the majority of the game.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Jump
X - Attack
Enter - Start
Control - Select/Switch characters

The compo release does not currently have:
-Damage/death
-A final boss with music
-Sound effects
-Full options menu with controls
-Finished camera (currently only works correctly on one character)
-Graphic improvements
-Level improvements
-More that I'm probably forgetting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#223Audio3.31
#430Graphics3.28
#696Theme3.06
#912Overall2.83
#978Fun2.53
#1039Innovation2.41
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Wow! Look at that .exe size! I'll wait a bit a few days then :P

ViKing Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47pm

@Fonserbc The file size is big because of the music. :/

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

chrome blocked it:C zip and reupload?

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Looks like it could be fun but I couldn't jump in anyway. I figured out it was control to switch characters but, I nothing I did would make my character jump. And the sword of justice was so close!

ViKing Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

@billknye Oops! I forgot to post the controls. I'll do that right away!

mephisto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Download was blocked by chrome (Anti-malware O.o), meh

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I like the art and the music, gameplay looks like it could be good but you dont seem to take damage from enemies? Also dat exe is massive....

MercuryLegba says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Great graphics and all, unfortunatly the enemies seem to be purely decorational and don't do any damage.

ViKing Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08pm

@SenorDiablo - @mephisto Alright, the download is now a .zip!
@4sap Sorry, I didn't have time to implement damage. :(

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice music and graphics. Great work!

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Ran into a bug in the grabbing claws powerup where the crates just floated off.
Couldn't escape the room then.
However, its a really nice looking game, a throwback with some great music :). You've done an great job with only 48 hours! My only criticism is that there's no threat in the game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Feels a bit "unfinished" but there are still some good things in here.

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:49am

Actually a pretty good game. Solid mapdesign and good soundtrack. However, the fact that you cant take damage and the jerky movement breaks the experience.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

got also a warning from chrome?

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

141mb download, thne chrome blocked, didn't rate it. It looks nice

01F0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I'm impressed of the number of features you managed to put in there! two worlds, multiple tools, different skills on characters. I like the concept and I can see that there is thought behind the level design. we only managed to add two levels to our game so I'm quite impressed by this. :)

I want to replay the game if you make a post-compo edition. I was not able to finish the game, I tried to stack two boxes which resulted in them flying up and away. :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]