Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yocast

by HuntTheWumpus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE2: Uploaded a 32 bit windows version. Use this version if you are unsure or have problems with the 64 bit version

UPDATED: the windows download should work now.. forgot to include the .dll files :/ my bad, i'm sorry!

You are one of yocast!s employee and your job is to connect all worlds in the universe! Visit different planets and connect them.

Pay attention to the length of your line. You can buy supplies at each planet.

Controls:

Up - Accelerate
Left,Right - Turn rocket
Space - (at planet) let go from planet

Esc - Quit

Short how to play:

- press m when circulating a planet to toggle the map and find your ship
- find a planet you want to fly to next, and buy enough "line" (press l) to get to that planet. overbuying by 200-300 is a good idea
- also buy some fuel to get away from your planet and to navigate to other planets
- after you have some money, upgrade your booster (higher acceleration, same fuel consumption)
- every new connection gives you money
- game is over, when you exceed the length of your line (watch the "line length" field, to see how much is left)
- the game isn't always fair. Sometimes you won't even get to any planet from your starting planet. I guess that's just how it is.. Sorry ;)

Oh btw: no sound in space, because there is no sound in space, of course..... ;)

Uses the awesome LOVE2D engine. (Also used: The GIMP)

Instructions how to run:

Windows: just download the Windows exe and run ;)

Linux: Get love-0.9.1 from your repo, download the love file and run it with:
$ love yocast.love

MacOS:

The love2d engine is available for mac here: https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/love-0.9.1-macosx-x64.zip

From the love2d webiste:
> On Mac OSX, a folder or .love file can be dropped onto the Love.app application bundle. On the Mac OSX Terminal (commandline), you can use love like this (assuming it's installed to the Applications directory): open -n -a love "/home/path/to/game"

(More instructions: http://love2d.org/wiki/Getting_Started )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#266Theme3.65
#486Fun3.12
#588Innovation3.12
#816Overall2.95
#922Graphics2.50
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

could not open because love.dll was missing from my computer

Graydom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

Couldn't Open because of love.dll being missing

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

aww sorry sorry. *panic upload in progress* thanks for noticing me!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

should work now, please download and try again! :)

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

Did not work to me, it suggested it could be I need a 64 bits processor to run it (I don't have it)

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

Although I would prefer a few amibient sounds, The game was amazing and fun. Good job!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

shatterhand: I uploaded a 32-bit version. please try again :)

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29am

Same problem here: love.dll was missing :/

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

This was quite interesting. I couldn't get more than three planets connected, though. I don't know if it's intentional or not, but at times I would collide with the planet I just left and return on it. At one time I got a bit stuck this way. :p

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30am

It took a few tries to get it, but once I did the game was enjoyable. Would be helpful if a planet always spawned close and the one your at in the map was highlighted better. Great work though fun and love the concept.

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

This was a little confusing to start but after a bit, i understood how I was supposed to play and it was pretty fun.

I feel like i was fumbling the launches right until i stopped playing. I couldn't easily find myself on the map. Buying rope to get to another planet is very basic. I like saving fuel with good throws, but extra fuel doesn't seem to save you very reliably when you miss a planet. Planning out a route is pretty interesting though.
Could do with more clarity on how to play, or better, an easy starting level to get you familiar with the mechanics.
Good work

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

Cool swinging mechanic - found it quite challenging.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

Fun, and definitely thematic. Died of expended line a lot. Don't seem to have quite got the trick of launching to the next planet, either, seems like I don't quite overcome line momentum a lot of the time.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Really enjoyed this entry, one of my favourites actually. Spent too much on boost so I couldn't reach the other planets in the late game, haha. Good job!

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Wasn't able to connect more than 2 worlds. Not going to rate this because I can't figure out whether there is an issue or if it is me. Every time I hit the space bar I don't get something consistent enough to actually be able to tell if I am doing it right of if there is an issue with the game. Using 64 bit.

Code White says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:37am

There's actually a surprising amount of people who use Love, Yey! Really difficult, but still playable, so points for fun. It fit the theme nicely, and I liked the booster animations on the rocket. Well done!

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:14am

Really nice game. You can't get too far due to running out of money rather quickly and not being able to obtain enough to buy the line you need, but a fun game none the less.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]