Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Worlds

by Torandi - Jam Entry

A Dark Souls inspired entry, it was originaly intended to have multiple worlds, but ended up a bit short of that..

It's far from finished, but I still like the idea enough that I might actually continue working on it.

Solo work. Was intented to be a team entry, but the other guy got sick. Also worth mentioning that I lost half the saturday to a party.

Code: Andreas Tarandi (@Torandi on Twitter) (Engine code: "ext")
Art: Torandi
Music: https://soundcloud.com/scythuz/sets/restaff-2014

If there's a missing dll error, you need the VS2013 x86 redist: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Gameplay:
=======
Defeat the boss. Manage your health and stamina.

Controls:
========
ESC quits the program

Controller recommended (tested with xbox360 controller):
Left stick: move
A: light attack
X: heavy attack
B - Press and hold direction: roll
B - Hold: run

keyboard:
wasd: move
j: light attack
k: heavy attack
space: dodge/run

Should you have any issues with inverted axises or other weird stuff, edit /data/ld30/ld30.preset,
Changing from scale=1 to scale=-1 inverts that axis.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#494Humor(Jam)2.12
#518Audio(Jam)2.63
#642Fun(Jam)2.52
#645Mood(Jam)2.48
#687Overall(Jam)2.71
#703Theme(Jam)2.12
#713Graphics(Jam)2.31
#716Innovation(Jam)2.16

Comments

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

no windows build? :(

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Working on windows build atm, will be up soon.

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Well, the game was fun, but way too short :)
I liked the boss AI and his different attacks, it left me wanting more which is a good thing.
With my controller the movement was inverted which made it very confusing, so I had to fallback to playing with keyboard.
On the second playthrough I also had a bug with the music starting over and over after just a few seconds.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00pm

[controller]: If anyone else have problems with the controller: Edit /data/ld30/ld30.preset, and change scale=-1 to scale=1 (for move[x] and move[y] axis(0) and axis(1))

[short] I know :( I wanted to add more worlds and bosses, but since I spent half the saturday going to a party there wasn't any.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21pm

And the windows build is up! :)

Malapropos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

When I run it, I just get magenta screen. It quits game if I press esc but other than that I can't do anything. Windows 7 64-bit OS.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51pm

@Malapropos: Oh shit. I think I know what causes that, do you have a amd card? I'll try to look into it, thanks for reporting.

Malapropos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Yes, I have ATI 6870.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice boss battle :) But that's way too short :(
You can improve it by making the gameplay faster ^^

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

The amd-issue should be fixed now.

Malapropos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03pm

It works now. Gameplay was fun and I can clearly see the Dark Souls boss battle influences in it. Solid jam entry of something that could turn out to be a great when polished. Like others, I was left with the feeling of wanting more of it. Didn't try keyboard but gamepad controls were solid.

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Nice gamepad support, but the game is too short

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Pretty fun, very short. Graphics were nice, and music was good. Could have used more sound effects though. Played it with a PS3 controller which worked well, controls felt good, though the attack was very slow. More features and stuff would make this quite a good game.

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Is the source available? The linux build doesn't work on fedora as it requires new GLEW

./x86_64/bin/dark_worlds: error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.10: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

vs

rpm -qa | grep glew
glew-devel-1.9.0-4.fc20.x86_64
glew-1.9.0-4.fc20.x86_64

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Hey, It doesnt start, even after fixing the missing dll

Andro Dars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I like the whole boss fight(s) only idea but I think the dodge/roll mechanic is superfluous in the current build. The boss is simply too slow to necessitate any rolling around or running. I killed the poor bastard just by walking around him and using light attack. Though it may, of course, be different with a 360.

Also music started doing the skipping record routine about 2 minutes in. Not sure if intentional.

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35pm

[source] Sorry, can't release it due to legal reasons :S

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:23am

Not working on Mint64 (segmentation fault). Tried starting it manually also.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09am

Nice battle there! I would have liked it more if the char was faster!!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:44pm

The attack is really slow, but so is the boss :P
Wish there were more levels as well, but nice entry anyway :)

DarkCart says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Short, but enjoyable.

Shmackson says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I'm a real fan of difficult boss battles, and this was a good shot at one. It was short, but I like the concept, a full dark souls style birds-eye game could be interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]