Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shadows

by apiotrw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What is the game about?

I thought about a game where our normal world is connected with a shadow world

The main gameplay is switching between the normal and a shadow world.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#100Theme3.90
#105Innovation3.88
#217Mood3.42
#257Graphics3.61
#308Overall3.46
#336Audio3.09
#504Fun3.10
#819Humor1.94

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:02pm

This concept is just amazing. I want understand how you can connect these worlds. I will see source soon. Bravo!

apiotrw says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Thanks a lot. :)
The shadows are not generated in realtime. These are just specially scaled meshes. No code magic.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

Very cool concept. Wasn't immediately obvious red stuff is interactive. Somehow ended up outside the building at one point.

apiotrw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08am

Thanks :). I have been thinking a lot about how to explain the red objects to the player but didn't come up with the best solution. And finally I didn't Have enough time to implement any boundaries.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

The atmosphere in this game is just lovely!

apiotrw says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

Thanks :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

Nice graphics and mood. Like the moving shadows - very challenging.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

This is def one of the best ones I have seen in terms of creativity and concept. Very fun to mess around with, HUGE HUGE HUGE fan. Obviously it would be really cool if the shodows were not just on a plane that responded to the parent object but were "the" actual shadows, and a light source could change the location of the shadow platform. But still AWESOME job. got me thinking in a new way and thats an A+ for any game. GJ!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39am

The concept and the idea are nice, but realization suffers a little bit. Some of the times paths in the shadow world dont even match to the shadows in normal world.

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55am

would be nice to have an os x build, the framerate was far too low in the webplayer for me to play.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

Cool entry with a buckets of atmosphere. Looks and sounds great!

Tarian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01am

Really love this. Great music too. Ambient.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01am

Really amazing

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02am

Nice game, congrats!

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

Cool game. Annoying how whenever you fall off in the shadow world you have to reload the page :/

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Very cool concept! Wish there was more content to play. Loved the clean aesthetics too.
Great job!

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26am

Interesting concept, not super my thing, but it's really cool.

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Interesting concept. Good job. It would be great if you add mouse sensitivity settings somewhere. It was just super sensitive for mer.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

can you make a linux build, please?

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32am

Interesting concept, fun to figure out. Though I'll say, the level was designed in such a way that I could skip all of the platforming challenges by just sticking to the physical world and only ducking into the shadow world briefly to get past walls.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Nice concept, I got stuck on the arena 3, I could not find what to do.

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:31am

I really enjoyed the concept and the aesthetics of this game. The Gameplay elements are a good base to start from, but as it stands they fall short a bit.

I made a video of this game as part of my Ludum Dare 30 Games series. The video is a blind play-through of the game. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yyuIRSaUPSI

apiotrw says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

Thanks a lot and also for the video :)

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Great Game!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

The idea is really cool and works really well! I especially liked the function the red boxes had. However, the actual puzzles weren't very challenging because I could just move forward while falling, teleport, and be past them. Beautiful visuals as well :)

strong99 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:47am

I love the connection. Lovely. I agree with @TeddyNashor but that wouldn't fit in 48 hours ;)

apiotrw says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

Thanks a lot :)

glbs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

The graphics of both worlds really match together and are much inspiring. Some of the puzzle/paltforms are really easy to bypass as one only have to walk in the normal world to avoid them. But I guess that with more time you would have created more challenging ones (post compo ???), the experience was immersive nonetheless.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

I like the bleakness of the shadow space

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:45am

Neat aesthetic. Good job. :)

se1by says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Nice game, but I didn't know what to do in the second level

shashwat says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:47pm

It takes AGES for me to fall (at least in the shadow world) and I can use that to just fall in the right direction and then go to the real world. The concept is brilliant, though.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:00pm

@se1by the second level is just a sandbox level with no goal except trying out the mechanics.

@shashwat this is currently my biggest problem. My first solution was to make some volumes which don´t allow the player to switch back to the real world before they finished the puzzle but I´m not really statisfied with it

Fazz says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I still use inverted mouse for first person games so I struggled somewhat with this, but I really liked your interpretation of the theme. Solid concept and well executed.

Knowledge says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:58pm

OK game but not too innovative.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:00am

I like the concept. Looking quite laggy.
But game idea rocks =)
Good job!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:09pm

i like the atmosphere in this game. it was a little hard to figure out how to get passed some of the areas, maybe a simple intro level?

torvik88 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great game. It reminded me of games like Antichamber, simplistic yet very atmospheric.

spartangeek says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:12pm

nice atmosphere and graphics but the gameplay seems complicated to me; instructions for playing are not sufficient imo

Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice concept and style. Good work! Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy my game. :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:47am

Wow.
Amazing graphics.
Truly....
And eerie mood.
Liked it.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Really good puzzle platformer :)

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:31am

Pretty neat and great aesthetic to complement the gameplay, though checkpoints or at least a way to reset it without having to try and refresh the page would have really helped the experience (I tried various buttons and as far as I could tell there wasn't an in-game reset button).

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Interesting and cool take on the theme. I ended falling forever the first time, maybe there could be a collider somewhere to detect those situations and stop them restarting the game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]