Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shared Mass

by mephisto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: I should have mentioned that the first levels were initially needed to understand the way the game works, but it seems that failed. So:
1. Connected planets share their mass until both are a) equal or b) one of them has reached its maximum.
2. The red planet (the goal) has to be filled with the exact amount. -> 25/50 (red) can only be filled by 75/? etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Theme3.75
#224Innovation3.60
#339Overall3.42
#403Graphics3.33
#422Fun3.20
#633Audio2.57
#849Mood2.65
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15am

Interesting deployment of a Java program, but surprisingly it worked perfectly. Neat.

Graphics and sounds entirely appropriate, do their job with no nonsense.
I'm buying the "connected worlds" thing.
Nice "fill the cup" mechanic going on here. Trying to work out the specifics with trial and error, but it seems there's some criteria which cause connections to fail that I'm not aware of :/
Pretty cool nonetheless.

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

game did not launch for me, it just briefly flashed a command line window before closing

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07pm

When trying to download on chrome, it says it is malicious and stops me.

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Nice, stylish game although I totally didn't get the rules - just kept doing whatever worked ;)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Much potential but not so much concretized..
Also I didn't understand perfectly the mechanics..why sometimes the mass is transfered and sometimes not?

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Well done on the gameplay, not entirely obvious gameplay, not sure if that is intentional. The quantities between the connected planets will average out, and in order to fill the red planet you have to have a source planet which will fill the red planet and end with exactly the same amount. Overall a fun little game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Took me a while to figure out what the gameplay mechanic actually was - main difficulty was working out why I couldn't connect the red planet (and then what the target number to fill it was).

Once I got passed that though, I got quite hooked. Can't think of any other games that use this mechanic and it feels pretty natural once you understand it. Good job!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I like the clean, minimalist style, but I'm a little unclear on how the filling mechanic works. I found the sounds a bit harsh. Great concept though!

jojocanard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

game did not launch for me, it just briefly flashed a command line window before closing. And I have java on my computer

IcyLava says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Finished the game, though I think I kind of cheated... when the sum of both planets is an odd number, you can decide which one gets the one point by changing which one you select first and which one second. Anyway, fun game, good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Beat about 10 levels and still can't understand how it works =(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

This is a pretty cool idea! I'd like to see where else you can go with it after the compo.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Graphics are simple and effective, cool game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Very smart game, nice graphics! BTW I caught some exception somewhere in music, i don't know really
http://pastebin.com/vYD87SNr

mephisto says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Thanks @CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD for posting the exception :)

idovingx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46pm

mephisto, look to your right and find what looks like a red glowing cloud of energy. Walk into the "energy cloud" to begin the game. Hopefully you'll give it another shot!

mephisto says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@idovingx I did

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Great puzzle!

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:44am

The idea is lovely, good job!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:17am

A really fun little puzzle game, as you say in the description, the tutorial levels could do with some work, but overall a cool little mechanic and an enjoyable game, well done. :)

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:01am

not to many games i found this challenging (intellectually) on LD30. I like the graphics, its simplistic, vibrant (nice color palette). I like the mechanics, it would work nice on a touch enabled device.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]