Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

PhaseShift

by KeyMaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arcady bullet hell about being in the right phase!

Instructions:
- Collect bullets that are in the same phase/colour as you
- Avoid bullets that are in a differen phase/colour than you
- Switch phase/colour by entering the portals that spawn in the level
- Survive. Get a high score!

Controls:
- WASD - Movement
- That's all!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#33Fun3.94
#65Overall3.85
#81Audio3.68
#350Mood3.24
#436Humor2.50
#479Innovation3.26
#615Graphics3.00
#758Theme2.94

Comments

nxT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58am

Dang, this is hard. Would probably be really good on mobile or something I think.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43am

nice bullet hell game

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

I would suggest add a mode or button that could make the game start with hard mode.

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

Good job!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25am

That's some hardcore stuff! I like it. I mean, I really like it. Also the music is pretty awesome. Great job! :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40am

really cool game feel

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11pm

A hard game .. Nicely done .. But what i didn't understand is why you used the word PHASE instead of just a normal word 'COLOR' :)

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

A hard game .. Nicely done but could've done something to make it different (next time).. But what i didn't understand is why you used the word PHASE instead of just a normal word 'COLOR' :) ..

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Very fun game. Kinda hard but addicting.

b5cully says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

This is a pretty cool game,
The controls don't always respond so well as required for this type of game (reaction-heavy) but I did have fun playing it. I think it does trigger a very strong desire to beat it with a high score, which is good!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Definitely has that "just one more go" thing.

arzi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I've never been very good at bullet hell shooter's, but I do like this one!

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

This simple yet challenging and really enjoyable game. Good work.

Also, the music fits perfectly the gameplay.

Oli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33pm

minimalist and addictive

xhunterko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12am

Neat avoider take on the idea!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Nice music!

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Pretty enjoyable! It was a little difficult for me to tell what color bullet the cannon was going to fire, but you did a great job!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Very cool idea! Enjoyed it a lot. (Love that we named our games the same thing, haha)

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:34am

Pretty neat little game! Very challenging.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Very playable, great simple gameplay but by no means simple is boring there! Really cool!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I really like it! I kept wanting to play again. My highscore is 9...

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Pffft, that should have been WAVELENGTH Shifter, not PHASE Shifter. ^^"

It's quite a neat little game and a solid entry overall. Not something I'd play over and over again (I'm more a fan of story-driven games), but still pretty good.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Thanks everyone for the encouragement, I'm now thinking about making a bigger and better post-compo version of this!
@Sunflower: You're not wrong :D

Xaychru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:12am

Nice game, can rapidly turn into a bullet hell. ^^

gnerkus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

This game is so nice! I love the music and the colour-shifting. I want to play this again.

Aske says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Really fun! Good work!

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Great work! Some feedback: some visual feedback would be nice for when you pick up a phased object. This is just me, but perhaps a slightly more generous hitbox for picking things up ;)

MonoS says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Very nice idea, graphic and music, but why the music reset every time you die D:??

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

MonoS says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Very nice idea, graphic and music, but why the music reset every time you die D:??

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]