Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

EBDA

by capsizedmoose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A topdown shooter in space! fire your weapons to move the planet you are standing on. kill the boss to repair your ship and proceed onwards to the next (randomly generated) level!

Controlls:
WASD - movement
Mouse - aim+shoot
Q - switch between your two weapons
E -interact
Space - Jump
R - restart game

twitter: @capsizedmoose
gmail: capsizedmoose@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#50Fun3.87
#98Overall3.78
#204Mood3.44
#210Graphics3.69
#227Theme3.70
#263Humor2.85
#284Innovation3.52
#290Audio3.18

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

Incredible! I loved it!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

Bloody norton 360 removed it! looks great though!

Orange says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27am

Freaking awesome! Loved it!

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44am

Took me forever to realize your shots move the planet you're on. At first it seemed like you were marooned with nothing to do. Pretty cool once I got past that!

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47am

if you die the game crashes? well thats quite a mechanic XD

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

but its awesome, good work, hope you continue to making the game ^^

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

@akios What does the crash say? D:

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39am

Shooting is really satisfying in this game.

PixelMonkey says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49am

Quite nice! It's a little repetitive (and wears on your clicking finger) but when you get some of the fancier guns the pace really picks up. Running around shooting things feels very satisfying!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Oh, ok, cool! Haha, I almost gave up trying to figure out what there was to do. No clear sense of movement at first. (Moving the starry background might help.) But once I stumbled across the moving platforms I started having fun. Click fest for sure and pretty challenging to stay alive, but I think I did alright for somebody who doesn't normally play this style of game. BTW, love the visuals!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Really nice :) Graphics and idea.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Really good game. But you should have explained somewhere that shooting moves the planet. Also combat is a little monotone but it's alright. The bosses have a really high rate of fire though. And Q never got me anything.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Delightful. The graphics were good and the planet-hopping was really fun once I got the hang of it. The regular enemies were cool, though I found myself wishing I could just hold down the fire button. I'm not sure how I'm supposed to approach the bosses though - strafing didn't seem to be working all that well for me. I liked how the shooting/movement mechanics added chaos to navigation - you never know exactly where you'll end up when a fight is over. I'd love to see this expanded. I can just imagine trying to fend a swarm of space bats away from a planetoid or something.

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really nice graphics, design and generally feels like a very solid well rounded game. Very impressed.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Nice shooting animations and concept. Could use some screenshake and it took me a while to figure out how to actually move the planet.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18pm

@Sanguine it actually has screenshake, but it's very slight you notice it more with the other weapons :)

Limyc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:31pm

This is fantastic. Absolutely love it!

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

I love the idea of moving the worlds with your projectiles.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Shooting lots of enemies? Moving planetes? Well... Finally game suited to me :D

ikarus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32pm

This is awesome, I really like the idea and the graphics, very fun.

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Very nice indeed. I loved the whole idea of bouncing around the galaxy jumping from planet to planet - such a cool premise. The shooting was well-handled too - combat felt appropriately twitchy and fun. Great stuff!

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Brillian! Played this for ages, its so much fun having to jump across to another planet. great entry :D

chadiik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

WOW! That's an amazing game!
Really! Everything: Concept, Gameplay, Graphics (COOOOL GRAPHICS!)
I would suggest you zoom out when the (cool little) monsters are wiped out of a planet, should add a bit more dynamism and make it nicer to navigate.

(I'll be following the updates and playing it later for sure! :D)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

love your style. That was an awesome mechanic propelling the planets with your gun though it took quite a while to figure out that that was occurring.

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29pm

so close and i died again after a jump.
good concept

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Pew pew pew pew pew!

(btw, that's not how planets work, but who cares? n.n )

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Incredible! And lovely.

sorle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I love the grafics

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Good Game! Awesome concept! You should make the screen shake a bit stronger or something else to make it easier to notice that you are moving the planet.
The game crash sometimes when you die. I noticed that it occurred less often in the full screen version. Not sure of what happen when I played but I had a blue screen windows error at some point...
Look into that if you plan to update it.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:18am

Pretty fun although there didn't seem to be a much strategy to the combat besides running in a circle.

Moving the planet with your shots is was a neat mechanic but like others have said there's almost no sense of movement to help gauge your speed.

The graphics and gameplay were obviously very inspired by Nuclear Throne but that's okay since the game overall is pretty different.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:48am

I love the concept! Nice work!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Graphics are really awesome! Reminds me of alien shooter, very fun game!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nifty little shooter, very moreish. Sneaky little mechanic for getting around too! Pretty decent little package that'd be worth carrying on with!

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I really liked this! Once I understood how it worked, I loved the concept and it was fun to play. You should keep working on it! I like the graphics, too. They reminded me of Windows 95 games (in a good way!).

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:16am

Awesome game! Loved the graphics, the sound, the gameplay (although I had to the game like 10 times (having no idea of what to do, jumping to the void, closing the game, opening the game, repeat) and had to come back to the description to know what to do).
The game is really good and fun and the only thing that bugged me was having to restart the game after each death!

I can't believe this was done for the compo! One of the best entries I've played so far! Good job!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

everything felt really nice and responsive. You have all the right elements of a shooter, well done! :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

@ConflictiveLabs You can press R to restart, didn't put that in the description. my bad :D

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Great feel to it!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:52am

Not bad. Like the idea with planetray flight. But I can't playing this game because of it crashes my PC with blue screen if death.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:54am

Great entry - a little more feedback on the moving planets would be great, but it's a really unique mechanic and I could definitely see it taken further. And that bullet animation is perfect!

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:21am

Neat idea, with the way you move planets!

I think the could could look nicer if you picked slightly more saturated colours, it seems a little dull with everything so grey.

Posva says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Really good! It's very funny and addictive.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:15pm

The title screen words get in the way imo. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

rojo says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Pretty fun! Some music would be nice, though. There should probably be some kind of in game help that shows / explains the planet moving mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]