Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Train

by SupSuper - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All aboard the SPACE TRAIN! Choo choo!

If keyboard input isn't working (eg. you can't make it past the title screen), refresh the page, or try the standalone version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Humor3.65
#514Fun3.09
#707Mood2.81
#828Theme2.83
#855Innovation2.77
#912Overall2.83
#1037Graphics2.29
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

JamesRossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04am

This game inspired me, http://tindeck.com/listen/jjsa

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

so u just float around with physics?

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24am

Snake 3: The Space Adders

evilentity says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Pretty cool, however its lacking in explosions! Exploding carts would be cooler.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

I was chuffed to see a game about a train and once I saw that you were selling me on my childhood dream, "This could be you!" I nearly went off the rails. Enjoyed this, but would have liked some sound.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Another train game! :) Nice and relaxing athmosphere, I'll have to keep my eyes open for open positions as a space train driver.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Fun game, could've used some high octane train music.

GLStephen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51am

I can't tall how to even start the game....

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

It was me! Needs more polish but i like the mechanics of this game.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

I am the stick figure! Aha I love it!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Interesting concept, but not a ton to it. Also felt a bit hard to control.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Nice game :D, I reckon with a bit more polish such as art and sound this game could become something really fun!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

How can I handle all these space trains?!? Snake 3 Good job! - Flurkin

creative630 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

"Choo choo" indeed!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

I liked this game, but I REALLY liked @JamesRossi's space train song, lol. This should be officially added to the game.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:10am

Great concept for the theme, was fun to zip around. I tried to find a sun to crash into but alas.

lol @JamesRossi

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I am the train.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:47pm

The controls were really difficult, but that made the game very humorous to try to play

sephyka says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Damn, the idea of a space train is really fun. I like it.
What a pity, the train playability isn't very easy. It might be better with sounds.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:24pm

"Doesn't matter where, doesn't matter how...." indeed.
It was fun playing around with the space train, just loses its novelty after a while... without sounds and explosions.

Warning, overanalyzing gamepad controls ahead:
The gamepad did indeed work, but the controls aren't mapped very usable. Something like (asuming XBox360) A and B for accelerating and braking, and the Triggers on the back for turning left and right, OR triggers for acceleration/braking and stick for turning, BUT NOT using the stick for both turning and speed control.

Also: using JamesRossi's music as backgroundmusic is a must.

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:23am

Neat. I like how you decided to utilize the asteroids-like physics, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]