Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Incantation

by Danman9914 - Jam Entry

Incantation is a 2D Puzzle Platformer that allows you to control the sun, creating shadows that your shadow-self can run and jump across.

"Connected Worlds" is used mechanically as you switch back and forth between the solid world and the shadow world. The theme is also used to provide the setting and aesthetic; Spanish Europe and Incan Central America are two connected worlds.

CONTROLS:

Controls are provided in game but are also listed as follows:

Left Arrow - Move the sun left
Right Arrow - Move the sun right
A,D - Move The Incan left and right
W,S - Switch up and down between worlds
Space - Jump

CREDITS:

Simon Jenkins - Design
Daniel Mullins - Code / Art
Brendan Walsh - Music / Audio
Meaghen Hicks - Art
Stephen Corlett - Code

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Innovation(Jam)4.25
#17Theme(Jam)4.17
#25Overall(Jam)4.06
#43Fun(Jam)3.81
#75Audio(Jam)3.81
#127Mood(Jam)3.64
#167Graphics(Jam)3.94
#210Humor(Jam)2.89

Comments

Carl Graves says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

Awesome little puzzle game, would love to see more Shadow-Incan puzzles. Great work.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04am

Best theme usage so far (ok we are starting yet but still amazing). Nice graphics. Sound is starting too loud.

korigame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

Overall very well done. First entry I've given 5 stars for Theme! Nice audio. Something to be proud of for sure :D

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

I loved this game. The shadow mechanic was great and resulted in tough but fun gameplay.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:13am

I love the graphics to this; I'm a sucker for cultural art style. Incredibly innovative; I'd play this on my phone for hours.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17am

A really awesome game, the puzzles are clever and the idea of controlling the shadow and flipping upside down is really cool . The first time I play a puzzle platformer upside down :D
One thing that put me off towards the end was the control though. I can't press the jump and move at the same time which makes me died a lot of times and it became a bit frustrating. 10/10 will come back and play it if the control gets better :) Graphics and music is nice btw.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37am

I love the concept. The controls are a bit hard to get used to but fun game overall

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

Really entertaining, the perfect balance between challenging and fun. Good job!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00am

Very clever use of shadows, would make a pretty sick game if it were more polished (moving up through shadows)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01am

nice game, really fits the theme.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Excellent game. The Incan character is particularly fantastic, I love how you kept the cultural theme throughout.

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Really really cool!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:38am

Great entry. Shadow mechanics is very nice and innovative. Music is really nice. Love it, great job!

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:42am

Cool game! I really like the concept with the shadows.

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45am

Good idea. The game is fun and fits in with the theme.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Wow. This is definitely one of the best I've seen.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Superb game! I loved the mechanics!

Devtactics says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

Very nice! I liked the way the mechanics were introduced gradually, and without being spoonfed.

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Nice game! The mechanic is cool, and I like the art style.

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:11am

I love the egyptian style and the look of the game, although, sounds are maybe a little weird!

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

Amazing. Incredible achievement for a 72 hour game. Pacing was good, loved the core puzzle mechanic.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

Incantation definitely shows off the fact that a fairly large team has worked on it as the visuals, sound, music and mechanics are top notch here.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:13am

Very polished art. I love the game mechanic, but it needs a bit more tutorial levels for the beginning. In particular jumping in shadow world/switching while standing on tall static shadows.

If you end up inside a shadow getting pushed out feels buggy although I can't think of a better way right now.

The static shadows feel strange since you can control the rest of the shadows. Of course they are key to making the gameplay interesting so again not sure on the fix.

Missing some sound fx for jump or switch etc.

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Shadow control is a very interesting concept. Also, there was a lot of levels!

sprawl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:08pm

I loved it ! The idea and implementation are great.

things I'd modify :
-the shadow when the sun is on one of the extreme side seems glitchy to me.
-You can get stuck in shadows sometimes.

This is one of the best game i've played this jam. Great job !

Maxom says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:24pm

First I thought: "not again this switching at the ground mechanic" but then you guys really surprised me with this whole shadow thing. I really enjoyed playing it!

Lvyn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Great puzzle game :)

Saphyre says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice, but I have an azerty keyboard and controls were too tricky for me...

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Clever design and great use of the theme!
I liked the sound effects as well, could
be made into a very neat post compo game

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Awesome! Very well rounded game. Graphics, sound, everything. The puzzles were even rather challenging which is often rare in an ld game :)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Fantastic concept, nice graphics and music. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]