Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeons and Diapers

by lasagnegames - Jam Entry

N.B: Works best in the Chrome browser.

The concept behind the game is that Zeno, a baby, projects his fantasy as shadows. The shadows are subjects of his imagination, though in reality they are just everyday objects.

So by using the shadow warrior and interacting/attacking the other shadows, you have to create a safe path for baby Zeno to get back home!

NOTE: As the shadow you have a limited range, and shadowy areas will cancel you out (not fully implemented).

Controls:
w (Shadow): jump (or up arrow).
a-d : move left and right (or arrow keys)
e : switch to the shadow warrior.
SPACE (Shadow): Attack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#154Humor(Jam)3.09
#167Theme(Jam)3.61
#223Innovation(Jam)3.34
#377Audio(Jam)3.07
#410Mood(Jam)3.04
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#587Fun(Jam)2.66
#605Graphics(Jam)2.82

Comments

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

I can't seem to jump, for some reason. I'm running Firefox 31. If it's an error and you fix it, I'll give it another shot.

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

Thanks for trying. Works mainly in Chrome at the moment. Sorry about that.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29pm

I was going to say I couldn't jump either, but then I realized you can only jump as the shadow and when you beat the hidden skeleton behind the tree the pit gets filled in magically and then the baby can cross. The 2nd level song is pretty good :p -- Im guessing the yellow screen is the end? gg

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11pm

ye sadly we didn't manage to add more levels xD classic ludum dare problems

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Very interesting game mechanics. Cool fighting idea.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Not bad, but the graphics seem to bug (they appear and disappear all the time)? Not sure if it's a feature or a bug.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:14pm

As is, it's kind of... easy. I'm guessing that's an idea that you didn't have time to implement (since there's unused platforms everywhere), but requiring the shadow to take a different path than "jump the gap" would make it a lot more satisfying. Something like "you must stay away from sunlight".

Concept is great though. Soundtrack has a pretty good groove to it. Visuals are interesting.

Good job!

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21pm

I had trouble with the sprites getting offset occasionally. Using Firefox. Interesting concept. In-game instructions would be nice.

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Thanks for your feedback people! The shadow disappears when it hits shadowy areas.

We were exploring the idea that the shadow should not be able to traverse shadowy areas to add an extra traversal element, but due to time we settled on it just disappearing.

Knowledge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Ok game, but unfinished like mine, so I'm really sorry.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Interesting concept but the game was way too short to really use it though. Could be something really cool with enough polish.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Hi there... Got to the gold screen (level 3) which had no content - perhaps it is the end ? Great idea - very much in mold of proper fairy story ;) Loved the babies laugh for switch to shadow. Great job!

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice concept boys. It deserves a longer game, outside the LD!

pmrsco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

interesting concept, the sound design could use some work, but other than that it was charming and I enjoyed it. Could be cool to see outside of the LD

insane66 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

me no jump

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Nice interpretation of the theme, and very innovative, two opposite things! :D

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I was ridden... on a baby?
And babies don't jump?
Really weird game...
Nice fight and puzzles, change the characters always is a good idea.

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

If this gets finished I can easily see it a combo between puzzler-action platformer and tower(baby) defense, so there's a great deal of innovation here. At the moment though the combat is pretty weird and so are the graphics. But I really liked the concept :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

cool game, but sometimes I have difficulty to see the soldier or foes, was this on purpose?

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:18am

Pretty nice concept. I like music and parallaxes. :)

brodavi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23pm

hehehe funny :) controls are a little weird, but I like the concept!

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:19pm

nice game, I like the shadow effect.

RodRoy1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:17am

It's simple, but serviceable. Would have liked to have seen more levels but two, but it seems fine as a concept. Good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]