Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Salad Escape

by UmbraTilde - Jam Entry

Help the potato salad escape from the hazardous world of the kitchen fridge to freedom!

Controls: Mouse left-click to jump.

The "exit" button does not work when playing in a browser, but that doesn't matter because you wouldn't want to quit such a fun game in the first place!




Sound effects made using bfxr, music made using inudge.
A change was made after submission due to the old in-game background music being both bloated in file size and terrible, so it was replaced with Guile Theme: https://archive.org/details/GuileTheme

Just something to try out and finish a Unity 2D game for the first time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Humor(Jam)3.47
#330Fun(Jam)3.12
#457Audio(Jam)2.87
#505Graphics(Jam)3.06
#660Mood(Jam)2.41
#710Overall(Jam)2.61
#750Theme(Jam)1.76
#766Innovation(Jam)1.47
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I know what theme you voted for ;)

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

AWESOME! Much better than Flappy Bird. the eyes of potato hahaha, i love it.

Vennril says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58pm

That's one damn adorable potato salad. I enjoyed it :)

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51am

What a likable potato salad! This is coming from a guy who doesn't like potato salad. It was pretty fun, and the graphics were great, but it could use something more mechanic wise to liven it up.

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Guile theme goes with everything. When I booted the game I just cracked out laughing. Good job. :D

insane66 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

POTATOES EAT YOU MUST HHHMM

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

One flappy bird with one potato salad? thats really.. i dont know! but its funny!

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:53am

you actually connected the guy from kickstarter who kickstarted the potato salad with flappy bird? I like the potato bowls animation, its cute, however i would design the whole game mire flat. (not using gradients)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]