Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Block Defender

by sorle - Jam Entry

Gamecrash is fixed!

Left --> A key
Right --> D key
Jump --> Space key
Shoot Enemies --> Left Mousebutton
Shoot Blocks --> Right Mousebutton
Turn Block --> Right Mousebutton

Super Block Defender ist 2D Shooter with Tetris-style elements!

It's our frist entry as a Team (Connie & Joern)
Connie did all the artwork and the music and me(Joern) did the programming.
It's playable but it's not finished. Two more enemies were planned and there are some bugs. I just ran out of time.
But have mercy! It's my second try and I'm still happy with the result so far.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Humor(Jam)3.33
#329Audio(Jam)3.19
#593Innovation(Jam)2.64
#597Fun(Jam)2.64
#653Mood(Jam)2.45
#662Graphics(Jam)2.58
#672Overall(Jam)2.74
#706Theme(Jam)2.10
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52pm

The MUSIC IS GREAT, and it is fun.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I have multiple criticisms with this game:
1. I do not see how this follows the 'connected worlds' theme in any way besides the opening scene with worlds colliding
2. the game crashed several times trying to create the long green tiles.
3. dropping the tiles went on far too long before the other half of the gameplay came in
4. once the gamepay did come in, I didn't know what I was doing at all besides shooting at drills indefinitely.
5. the enemies are weak enough and you shoot fast enough to where you can just hold down the fire button at the end of the screen and they will never get close to you.
6. this completely makes the first part of the game useless, unless the enemy spawn part actually ends at some point for another wave to come in later, but i waited way too long for that to seem like a possibility.
7. the art is not the best but that isn't as important as design and gameplay.
positives:
1. the music is good

regardless, you did a good job so congrats.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Simple and funny game. Was interesting to play :)

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Good! But it is unfortunate that it crash for no valid reason sometimes. Keep it up.

sorle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I fixed the gamecrash. Was a small misstake I made.

insane66 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

FUNNY

ekun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

The Web link directs me to the Windows .zip download.

I have been deceived.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice graphics, interesting idea, amusing story...
...but the game itself was rather boring, with all these blocks at the beginning and then easy to defeat drills later. >.<

Toubib says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:29am

The Web version is a zip :(

leafarz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

i liked the music!
pretty weird game lol. but hey it's a first game so a job well done! continue to update this game, add more mechanics and make this great.
good job! :D

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:40am

Cool game :D :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:36pm

I don't understand how the actual gameplay relates to the theme.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Sometimes the block fall through the ground, and then the game freezes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]