Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

**

by ethankennerly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Post compo features:
+ Score.
+ Tuned illustrations.
+ Connect animation and musical notes from a song by Jade Brewer.
+ New name ".." (DotDot).

Playtesters: Diana Salles, Jennifer Russ, Bethany.
Post compo playtesters: Anders, Aubrey, Kerry.
Inspired by conversation with Matt and Diana at http://themade.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#172Overall3.64
#229Mood3.41
#246Innovation3.57
#255Fun3.43
#400Graphics3.34
#568Theme3.24
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Great game! I've never thought that remembering shapes could be so interesting.

DSalles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Perfect!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Coolgame :)

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice game.

the says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Nice concept.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02am

Thanks a lot for the great advice you gave me on my game ! I'm working right now on an improved version.
The bomb are indeed random and have a simple 25% chance of appearing, your "deck of card" idea could work, I'll try to implement it as soon as I have the time.
Again for the down arrow idea, I tried it and it's great.
Thanks a lot for your involvement, have a nice day !

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

Very good idea! Looks so easy on begin but gets tough later on. Needs sound badly!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:37am

Very simple gameplay and suddenly game becomes pretty hardcore :) Well done!

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33pm

@Endurion You're right: it feels empty without sound. The latest version (finegamedesign.com/dotdot) now has connect animation and musical notes that play when you connect.

t4u says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Love the feel of connecting the points. It really encourages me to play.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Cute! This game works very well on my touchscreen PC!

But it was definitely lacking sound.

I think showing the sleeping child between 'levels' could have added something to the game, too.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:11am

Thought it would be easy - turned out to be way harder! Nice graphics and intuitive gameplay. Could have used some sound to really put it over the top!

Jedi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:24am

Cool game! Really innovative!

As has been said, it needs sound. Also, sometimes the dot would snap to where I didn't want it and the level would restart. I didn't think precision dragging should have been part of the game but maybe that's just me. Maybe you should set a fraction-of-a-second timer so the player doesn't lose immediately if they're just passing by a point that's not in the design.

Also, was there an end screen? Did I just click past it by accident? It seemed like the game just restarted after the last level.

Thanks for the game and good job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:15am

Neat idea! I only wish it had a some nice ambient music and sound to go with it. Going to play the post compo version now.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:17am

Played the post-compo version. The sounds help a lot! It would be great if there was a piece of music playing along that the 'connection notes' fit into, so you're kinda playing music while you connect stars. Again, very nice concept - keep developing it!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:37am

Years of Android lock screen usage trained me for this! :D
Nice concept, I like it. :)

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Cool, simple game! Sound and music would improve it to another level, though. Smart theme usage.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Really good result you got here, I played with my touch screen and it felt nice. It could use more visual effects to make the experience superb in feel too.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Neat dot-to-dot game. Seems like it needed something more, not sure what tho.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:13am

It's working pretty well.
The last level (the character face) gave me some hard time.

I also tried the post compo, the audio add a lot to the experience, although I'm missing some difficulty in that version (nice touch to make the player draw is own score).

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Very cute but pretty easy (and a little repetitive after a couple of levels).

deepnight says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:50am

Very interesting puzzle idea :)
At first I thought "meeeh too easy, I don't see how it could be difficult".

The it became quite hard for me :) Good job.

Atlantis Ho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:26am

Very nice. I like it.

villetou says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Ooh that smiley face was a tough one! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:41am

Nice memory game! I reckon it would be great for kids to help them with their learning process, but some of the shapes are challenging for adults too. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]