Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World of Joy

by Lancelot Gao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game inspired by my daughter (1 year old).

The World in children's eyes must be different from ours. It's a world full of joy and surprise. We knew that world too. But as we grew older, we've lost the connection with it.

This game tried to rediscover the world of joy - a forgotten world connected with our reality world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Humor3.63
#98Audio3.62
#118Mood3.62
#126Graphics3.93
#195Fun3.53
#218Overall3.57
#468Innovation3.27
#864Theme2.75
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

enjoyed the graphics and theme, and the mechanics are very good

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

The screen's too big to fit in the browser.

skymarionsky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13am

lovely!!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

The game challenges you to play different games that require good reactions and speed. It's obviously that the game is not for hardcore players, however, it's surprisingly enjoyable to play. The lovely graphics and pleasing background music and the details (like the keyboard!) all make up this interesting game.

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Very nice, well done :)

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice game, congrats!

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I love the WarioWare style gameplay! Did not expect to see something like that from LD48 but I really enjoyed it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

13!

Yeah, this was great fun to play - the treasure hunt level is hard though!

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice entry, the keyboard level is beautiful and fun but the other level mecanics are more classic i feel. strong entry overall !

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Asians :D

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52pm

LOVE the hand claps, funny game!

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Very cute, really enjoyed it.

My favourite game was the keyboard monster one.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Super cute game. I felt so bad when the timer cried! Nice idea.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

ah warioware was my favourite as a kid, this was alot of fun to play and a cool take on the theme. Good job!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Haha, how random! Really nice presentation, well done. :D

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Very nice entry, well polished. I couldn't seem to beat the 'touch leaves' level, no matter what I did, but I'm sure I'm missing something. This has a nice feel to it, and I came away smiling.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Linux users cannot run web-unity and wine did not want to run the exe, sorry,

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36am

Game hint: move your mouse cursor on the leaves quickly to "Touch Leaves".

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

Linux build published.

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:30am

Fun and different, and the combination of photos and drawings was great. Reminds me of Wario Ware.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:43am

The graphics and audio is really nice! It is a difficulty but fun game nonetheless.

Some instructions for each of the game would be good. For example I wasn't sure how to play the the leave touching game until the second time I tried it.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11am

Your game reminds us that the connection still exists if we want to go back to this world for an instant.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Nice graphics.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Hi there. Excellent minigames and very professional presentation. Great unifying theme. Good job!

ClownAround says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Great idea. Art and theme are great. Loved the music.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:30am

Yay, I got claps! Kinda nice idea. The leaves could be highlighted with some other color because I didn't notice it in the first round.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]