Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds

by insane66 - Jam Entry

Use Arrow Keys.

Jacob (age 10) tried to make the game with CraftStudio. Sunday (after spending all day Saturday modeling characters and trying to figure out how to get a basic game working) he started from scratch with Gamemaker and produced this entry. Done with 18 mins to spare. (Dad did squash 2 little in-game bugs before we turned it in)

The main character is Tink (similar to a rhyming character name) who's mission it is to unite the alien worlds.

Can you figure out the secret to win?

Gamemaker Studio and Tile Studio were used to make the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#651Theme(Jam)2.33
#705Innovation(Jam)2.24
#724Fun(Jam)2.19
#731Graphics(Jam)2.20
#747Overall(Jam)2.48
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18am

From my understanding, your 10 year old son made this game and you helped him with some little things? Overall, it's pretty cool to see him making a game for a game jam. But I think it's a little too early.

Now onto the game:
I thought the idea and concept was pretty basic. The game was a little challenging and a little fun. One of the things I don't like is if you may be on level 3 and die, it takes you back to level 1. The graphics are okay (I couldn't do anything better when I was 10). I found the game pretty funny with the animal's physics. Sometimes they would be a little slow, or randomly fly around the map. After all it made me laugh inside.

Mezzenstein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:40am

It's cool for a 10 year old. Also, this game includes ALIENS :D

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Interesting platformer! Would be nice if you could move faster and diagonally.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:17am

Not a bad game, but the controls felt very sluggish. This was only made worse by the fact that if you died you started completely over. After dieing I simply didn't have the patience to deal with the slow movement and try again.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:42am

Could have used some control tweaks but for a 10 year old who's gonna complain.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:02pm

The controls are sluggish and the screen resolution changing from screen to screen is really weird.

Now, I disagree with Buttsteam. It's NOT too early for your kid. I bet he was loving the challenge of doing this, and he will be compelled to do it again and learn more about coding for the next time.

This is an amazing process for your kid, and something from which he will learn a lot.

I work as a programming teacher today, for kids aged between 15 and 19.
I begun coding when I was around 6-7 years old, using MSX Basic. When I was around 11 years old I was already coding games (Very simple ones, obviously) and some more complex stuff.

I thank this for the job I have today and for make me able to think logically and be able to learn new stuff very quickly nowadays.

Even if your kid doesn't want to be a programmer in the future, this is something that will only make good to him. I hope to see more games from him in the next LDs :) You are a great dad for doing this :)

Luthwyhn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Excellent work, Jacob. Your art skills have already surpassed mine, and I've been making games for about twice as long as you've been alive!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

It is awesome that your son is doing this! I couldnt do something like this when i was 10, i find this game very basic, but so? its cool! great work :D he is going far if he keeps doing more stuff :D the story is nice and the best of all IT HAS ALIENS e.e

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

I thought the game had a really nice mood, sort of like a sketch by a young kid. Super fun to sort of explore that in a videogame :)

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:15am

The controls were a bit too slow to be engaging, but interesting idea.

DarkCart says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Not bad, especially for a 10 year old..

Mapboy says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:43am

Neat game for a 10 year old.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]