Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drempt

by WetDesertRock - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drempt is a top down shooting game where you try to understand the behaviors of two different manifestations. I also have anon stat collecting script running to tell me more about what computers I'm designing for, and good my difficulty curve is. More on this at the bottom. What follows is the instructions for the game. Read them!

Drempt is a game about when the external world connects with your dream world that takes place throughout five dream cycles. Each dream cycle ends when you fall prey to the manifestations.

There are two different kinds of manifestations: The Visitors are external manifestations in your dreams, and the Glimmers are manifestations of the dream itself. As the observer in your dream, you need to figure out what is a Visitor and what is a Glimmer.

Your goal is to discern between these two manifestations by throwing Observances at them. Observances dispatch the power the manifestations have. Left click will throw an Observance made for the Visitors, right click will throw an Observance made for the Glimmers. If you match it up right you will gain points, if you don't you will lose points.

You can discern between the two manifestations by the presence of an aura on a Glimmer, but the aura will fade as you move deeper into the Dream Cycles eventually disappearing altogether. The two manifestations also move differently. The Visitors move faster and are more responsive to the player. The Glimmers move slower and more gracefully.

At the end of each Dream Cycle you can use the points to bolster yourself. Remember that your points carry over into the next cycle so you could lose them if you don't spend them. Your final score is based off of how many points you have at the end of the final cycle.

To get used to these different behaviors, you can try out the free play mode.

Statistics that are collected:
Game version
Display's resolution
Operating System
Potato Salad
If love is fused or not
Debug mode on/off
Various graphic feature support
And Game statistics (time playing specific cycle, things bought, score, yadayadayada).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Audio3.84
#149Mood3.54
#385Graphics3.37
#428Innovation3.32
#438Overall3.32
#456Fun3.15
#853Theme2.77
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

I played for half an hour and I'm not sure I understood the different behaviors. In the end I got good scores, but it was more intuition than knowledge ;-)

I like the music a lot. I matches the theme of your game perfectly and the game has a great mood.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26pm

The idea of having two kind of "targets" but with the same look is really great. I think that the "story" behind it make the game maybe too hard to understand, having this story is great (and so the story) but by missing simple instructions of shoot that one, and not the others, you made maybe the entering too difficult.

For the rest graphics and sound are really great, even the background. i have some issues with the movement of the "ship", the "move always" is a great idea (who fit well with your story) but you could maybe add a slowing action even temporary to make the trajectory more controllable.

The upgrading menu is really well but i'm surprised because it is really not in the same "dream mood" of the story and the game : it makes it easy to use/understand, but is quite weird between the dream cycle.

Theme used, good idea simple who could bring more.

Good game.

kostka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Very nice game, great for evening relax<3

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Well this is definitely a very interesting take on the theme. I really liked the idea of the game.
I loved the music very much and the art was good.
The gameplay was nice but as I played for longer time I felt it was getting boring as it was the same exact thing. I think around dream 3 I felt almost invincible with my upgrades so I decided to kill myself to see how the game ends.

Generally it was a very good game and I liked. It felt that there might be some morale or some end story to it. Some kind of finale but turned to be just a score game. That may not be bad in of itself but felt kind of like disappointed as I was waiting for something like that (specially when the deep description gave me that feel).

Well done game :D

BlackBird says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:56am

I am unable to give you a rating as I did not complete my project, I gave up after a few attempts at not really connecting worlds. Hopefully this will be useful, I've gone ahead and wrote up my thoughts while playing and analyzing. http://www.timbeaudet.com/blog/2014/08/26/game-review-ld30-game-drempt/

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Well, interesting idea with this graphic style, quite enjoyable.

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I've played not so far... Good sound makes mood, but didn't understood, how to play at first. Anyway, nice idea! :)

Esenti says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I like the idea and the music is really nice! One problem I've found is that after a while (and after buying a couple of upgrades) the game gets too easy - to the point when it's almost impossible to get killed.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Very calm and peaceful music, nice graphics, and cool game!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Had a hard time learning the different behaviours.

Game was too difficult at first with the initially slow movement, then after a few upgrades, spamming shots in a spiral got me quite a decent amount of points (700+) with no thinking required.

On the other hand, the bizarrely abstract graphics are really nice, the sounds quite good, and the background music is something else. Probably the best track I've heard this LD so far. Easily 5/5 for audio and mood.

The menu and upgrade screen are both nice and overall the whole thing feels quite polished. The game is extremely relaxing, and I don't mind saying it again, the music is just beautiful.

Jedi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:41am

This is a nice, relaxing entry. The music really fits the dreamy mood. I'm not sure that the gameplay of shooting and dodging fits cohesively into that, but it does work.

There's way, way too much text to read! And really, it's all just window-dressing for the innovation of two enemy / weapon types. Which is an innovation I like by the way!

Utlimately this game is fun and very good overall, but only after you've invested the time to really understand what's going on. Once you do understand the way the game works, it actually goes from overwhelming to boring pretty fast. So, it would be cool if there were more gameplay elements that were introduced over time. I see that you kind of did that with the upgrade system, but the problem is the upgrades make the game easier faster than the vanishing auras made it harder. While I'm on the subject, that was also an innovative and cool idea but the ships did not move distinctively enough IMHO.

On the second play through, I got about 4000 points but got bored around the 4th stage. I think it kept me playing for about an hour, so good job!

allenfreese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:53am

Interesting concept.

Code White says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:42am

The mood is spot on. I love the procedurally generated background and the music is nice and airy. Really well done on this, I liked it a lot.

ReddogStone says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:44am

I'm a bit torn with this game. On the one hand I liked the graphics and the music/sound a lot. On the other hand, I found the game-play a bit odd. I couldn't really observe any clear difference in the behavior of the two different manifestations. Also it gets repetetive quite fast.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I totally liked the game. It took some time to understand, how to play, but when I understood, it was interesting. Makinf a game about such abstract concepts is interesting touch of the theme. And now I know how to differ Glommers and Visitors, which is practically useful for a dreamer :)

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Sorry, I TLDR the instructions. I jumped in and started to understand that there was a difference between my targets but I didn't understand. It didn't help that I can't right click on my trackpad. So I went back and read the instructions. Then I had my "Ah-ha" moment. Interesting idea, I like the music.

I agree that the different behaviors didn't really stand out and I had a hard time discerning what I was supposed to do.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]