Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Convergence

by leafarz - Jam Entry

*Update*
Post Ludum Dare: Added Web build
Post Ludum Dare: Added OSX build

Two people in different worlds are trying to get back to their own. The only thing that connects them are the red objects, eventually meeting at one point- the convergence of the two worlds.

[This is a multiplayer game. 2 players are required for the game to start. REALLY recommend trying OSX or Windows because the lighting in the web is not as good]

*For single play*
-You can open two windows and just connect to yourself (IP "127.0.0.1"), which is your IP, to try it if you can't play the game with others[sorryyyyyyy it's a multiplayer gaameeee :(]


*For multi-play*
-Works via LAN/WIFI. (Recommended because of sucky net handling when lag)
-If you're going to play with someone from another place (external IP),
-you probably need to do port forwarding (port used in this game: "11100")
-Also I haven't tested it without PF-ing yet, worth a try.


Objective is to get through each levels with CONSTANT cooperation and CONSTANT communication.

I suggest [YOU PROBABLY NEED IT] voice chat (from other applications) if you're not connected via LAN/WIFI/LocalConnection. I was supposed to implement voice chat here, but I've no time left [SORRY :(].

And lastly, if you happen to advance a level and the other player does not, just restart the game. Haven't finished polishing the network handling.

Really hope you enjoy the game! :)

Engine: Unity3d
BGM/SFX: http://freesound.org/
Audio editor: Audacity v2.0.5

*Also thanks to KazuKishida (if he joined in today's Ludum Dare) for giving me the link for audio stuff (pretty good variety of audios here).
* Music is not mine. I just got it from the link above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#196Audio(Jam)3.45
#240Innovation(Jam)3.29
#306Theme(Jam)3.33
#382Mood(Jam)3.09
#473Humor(Jam)2.18
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#560Fun(Jam)2.72
#677Graphics(Jam)2.54

Comments

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23am

nice music

maloki says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Interesting concept! Quite difficult but should work well with some way to communicate with your fellow player. :D

Good job! :D

ramoncb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Wow, a multiplayer game! =O

The concept is really good, but I had to play alone (with two browsers), so my experience is a little different; I had to step one character in the red platform, then play with the other one in another window...

but I do believe that with two player will be an amazing experience, really following the theme in quite a unique way! Good job!

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice game

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Neat graphics and very lovely music <3

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:37pm

This is amazing!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47pm

There is no single player so I can't play alone I'll come back later, nice music

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I played it alone, it would be much more fun with other people! Good music!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:32am

Played about three levels nice job! Not sure how the mechanic works though, I just move around and the platform appears. Must be more obvious with two people.

leafarz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:37am

@PowerSpark: thanks! i was thinking at first if i put the instructions in game, instead i just made it implicit. in fact i thought it was too implicit lol. the objects appear only when you both look at the object! :D

vividhelix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:56am

Excellent take on the theme, hard to play solo especially

vividhelix says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:57am

Excellent take on the theme, hard to play solo

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:58am

I couldn't get past level 2 alone, my player1 just saw all black and I couldn't navigate over the little jump to the circle since I couldn't tell where I was located.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Don't know why, but the player moves really really fast on my computer, it's almost unplayable...

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:12am

Very eerie game.
I like a lot...

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:45am

It took a lot of work for me to find someone to play with hahaha. Although I applaud your attempt at having a multiplayer game, I would consider a way or a mode to play with a single player. The music was nice, and the mood you set up was also great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]