Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Networkaholics

by gmfk07 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A frantic, fast-paced game of playing the guardian in a network of unprotected computers.

You have to check up on e-mails, downloads, and URLs sent between computers. If they sound fishy - rich nigerian prince, anyone? - you need to delete them before they reach a computer.

Even has a few links to real-life security stuff! So, there's always that.

Controls/how to play/help follows:
The objective of the game is to protect your computer network in each level from various internet threats. You do this by examining potential threats by left-clicking them, and then right-clicking them again if they are dangerous.

You have three lives, which are represented by " :D " icons on the lower-right hand corner of the screen.

The gameplay components are:

Computers
These are the things you need to protect. If a dangerous file reaches a computer, you lose a life. Computers also produce e-mail.

E-mail
Produced by computers. Bad e-mail urges you to click on something. If an e-mail is bad, right-click it to delete it. Right-clicking a normal e-mail message will cost a life.
Example of good e-mail: "Oh, hey! How are you doing?"
Example of bad e-mail: "Hi, I'm Jim! Click HERE to enter a survey and win $100!"

Internet
The internet will produce downloads.

Downloads
Produced by the internet. If a download ends in .exe, you need to right-click to scan it. After you scan a download, it turns blue. Left-clicking to examine a scanned download will tell you if it is malicious or not - if it is, right-click it once more.
Example of a good download:"help.txt"
Example of a download that could be risky: "duck.exe" < if a download ends in .exe, right click to scan it.
Example of a scanned good download: "A somewhat hard video game."
Example of a scanned bad download: "Malware masquerading as a popular program."

Browser
A browser will produce urls.

URL
Produced by browsers. Good urls say "www.site.com." Bad urls say something slightly different.
Example of a good URL: "www.site.com"
Example of a bad URL: "www.sitte.com"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Humor4.12
#45Innovation4.06
#61Fun3.83
#363Overall3.40
#375Audio3.00
#403Theme3.44
#922Graphics2.50
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

This game is really difficult, I couldn't get over level 2. But funny idea, now I know how hard the nsa works.
And you was right, the game is better than the screenshot

smbe19 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Chrome claims your .exe download is malware. How fitting ;)

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Wow, smbe. That is... something.

You wouldn't have happened to download it from a strange sounding e-mail, did you? ;)

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Haha, I quite like this. I could see a more polished, deeper version as a kind of "Papers, Please" game.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04am

Very hard, but it's well made! The emails that are almost spam but then psych you out - those really got me at first.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:07am

I'm up for the challenge! Fun and original gameplay :) GJ!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Gets very difficult very fast! I loved the idea. If this was easier, I think it could actually be used to help people learn internet safety. Great job.

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I couldn't pass beyond level 3. :(
Very interesting and fun concept. Like it.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Haha very fun and challenging. Yes level 2 was a pretty huge jump in difficulty from level 1. Those files to be scanned take a while.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Super interesting concept and executed well. Could be a bit easier though.

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Thanks for all the support, everyone! This game accidentally became a rage game... oops :P

If I were to add a mode for wusses (read as: easy mode) what do you think I could do? Decrease letter spawn rate? Decrease speed? Decrease probability of an exe/bad download/bad url?

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Pretty hard game, but had a few good laughs :)

hadesfury says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:34am

Good idea ... quite hard to succeed

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Liked the concept a lot, the game was too hard but is a really good game!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I got up to level 3, but like everyone else says, it just gets way too hard. :P
Really fun game though, I love the concept. :)

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Pretty challenging!

Knowledge says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:57am

Level 5 is too hard or even impossible.
Did you play your game?

gmfk07 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Yep.

I even had a few people try it out, and most could beat it... if it took them a while.

I agree it's quite hard, and I have made an easier version but I can't post it up here for rules reasons.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]