Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

AlienScape

by Kerdelos - Jam Entry

AlienScape was made by Stardust1002 and myself.

You are a math teacher captured by aliens who tortured you to teach them math.

Now you must escape !

The particularity of the game is that, instead of a 3D view, you only have two 2D views. A top one and a side one. It is up to you to reconstruct mentally the 3D scene to avoid all the dangers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#30Innovation(Jam)4.08
#89Fun(Jam)3.61
#197Overall(Jam)3.49
#207Humor(Jam)2.90
#292Theme(Jam)3.37
#363Mood(Jam)3.12
#375Audio(Jam)3.08
#535Graphics(Jam)2.97

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23am

Really cool idea. Games like this are why I love LD. This is very creative.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Nice concept , the audio is good too .. the character animation is wired abit but kinda funny :D
Good work

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39am

This is great, and fun to play. The early levels seem too short, though.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Wow, this game/idea is awesome!

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very interesting way to make platformer! Ultimate idea! (btw, i rated you on gamejolt too :D )

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17pm

+Innovative use of theme
+Gameplay is quite fun
+Good level design
+Megaman-like main character

-UI graphics does not fit int this world

Overall: It's fun, keep polishing!

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Nice game. Love the sound when you die... :D

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

This game plays with a very unique idea, and it works surprisingly well. Not impressed by the graphics, but that's not really the most important thing here. Try it out for sure!

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nice game, congrats!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nice idea and good mechanics..Also nice level design.. But I would have rethink better the controls, doesn't feel right

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very solid mechanic!

brookman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Entertaining! I like the idea with the two views. The last two levels were rather challenging.
The audio and the sprites *cough* megaman *cough* could be improved. ;-)

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Very cool! Has a lot of potential! Its a very powerful idea to build it as a bugger game! Congrats!

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:16am

Gj! guys is very fuuny!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

It is very challenging but fun! I can see this as a fun game to speedrun. Good job!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37pm

5 / 5 awesome mechanics. awesome implementation of the theme! great work! awesome game!

damrem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Very stressing, very good concept!

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Hardcore game but cool concept and execution is good, well done guys !

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

The fire particle was amazing; the laser could use some love. The jump needs some work. It feels like you should be able to go further than you can; and needs to respond to quick or long presses of the jump key.
I liked the main game mechanic ... the first fire level would be a great tutorial.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

This was most likely the most innovative game so far, really awesome idea. You should make another game or improve this one, because the concept is awesome! My only complaint is that the graphics are not quite coherent and the jumping is a bit floaty. But all in all, really well done!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Good job, it's kind different from what you usually see on 2D platformers.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

YOU LIED!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Hi there. Nice mechanic/concept for the extra worlds. Difficulty curve quickly up - for my meager platform skills anyway. Looks really good, nice sounds. Good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:18am

Wow - coming up with an original mechanic in a platformer, let alone one that works well, is not an easy task. Great work! Could definitely use some polish in visuals and gameplay, but it's such a solid idea it's worth exploring further.

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Nice game. I really like the concept. It got hard quick on that jump and change lanes move.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I burned like tasty tasty bacon :P

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Very good idea, I really had to focus to progress through the levels. Some hitboxes are a bit unforgiving, and the graphics lack consistency but overall it's a well balanced platformer, and I had fun playing it. I like the fact that during progress and with some practice, all elements (turrets/fires/enemies) can be understood & mastered, so we eventually get better and better at it. Good idea and good execution!

X-0r says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Now that's a different perspective! Loved the mechanics of the traps, too :)

someone says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Cool idea, and fun to play.
Having to click the button between each level was annoying. You should map it to space, or enter.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]