Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Field

by DrPrettyPatty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls (Keyboard/360 Controller):
WASD/Joystick- Move
Space/Y- Jump
E/A- Advance Dialogue
Esc- Return to Title/Quit Game

Something mysterious is going on in the world you find yourself in. Help out the residents to find out what!

(I used the Unity 4.6 beta to make this, so I can't promise the web player will work!)

Tools:
Unity3D
GIMP
Audacity
JFXR
FL Studio
Kontakt Factory Selection (free on Native Instruments' website!)

Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1jpqF_r_64

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Audio3.59
#151Mood3.53
#179Theme3.76
#188Graphics3.76
#226Overall3.56
#439Fun3.18
#867Innovation2.76
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25am

What i like about it is that it feels friendly, mellow, pleasant. Good vibe. Kudo´s

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37am

Great game! I really enjoyed the art style. The characters were really fun and I enjoyed exploring the world. Would love to see it made bigger, because I love this kind of adventure platform game.

The tasks were nice and challenging, but I noticed that walking down a slope seems to prevent you from jumping (trying to jump onto the spinning green platform). Also, it was a little hard to judge the distance of the single soul, but maybe that was the point! Also, some camera controls would be handy!

Good job!

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49am

Apart from the fact that the camera sometimes blocks your view to jumps, I cannot find anything wrong with this entry. It feels welcoming and friendly. Cheers o/

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51pm

The camera made some things a bit difficult, but overall the game is very good. I like the style and the music and sounds were well done. Thanks for making it :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Nice take on the caracthers, I also liked the cell-shaded shader pretty nice.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:07am

Love it! Nice art style, cool dialogue and it works with my PS4 controller! Hope you guys do a post jam with more content! (Only if you enjoyed making it ofcourse).

malf says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I liked the game , the art and the music , but the controls were a bit "finicky"

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:23pm

World was great cell shading was nice effect

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

+ cell shading
+ music
- get camera direction from teleporting start (talking angle)

barryrowe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:34am

The camera was making it tough to complete some objectives, but the feel and look of the game are nice.

dadman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice art style and animation! Also liked the sound changing between worlds. But tricky doing 3D platforming without the ability to move the camera, but I can see why that wouldn't be a priority when you were too busy making this amazing art!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]