Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nonomnia

by robodylan - Jam Entry

Language: C#;
Graphics: SFML.NET;
IDE: Visual Studio 2013 Ultimate;

The core engine was written in about 8 hours. The rest was slowly put together and pulled part as I could not come up with a good idea. I am disappointed that I could not come up with a creative game idea this year. But, I am extremely proud at the fact that I wrote the game engine. There's a lot in the engine that was never used. Enemies, Bullets, Better Terrain Generation, Music(in the files) etc... All in all I have a great engine to build other games in. Will definitely use engine for better games.
Thanks for playing! :) -Dylan Dunn

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#461Humor(Jam)2.23
#623Audio(Jam)1.91
#676Graphics(Jam)2.55
#688Mood(Jam)2.20
#725Theme(Jam)1.96
#743Innovation(Jam)1.96
#748Fun(Jam)2.02
#779Overall(Jam)2.10

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

I cringed a bit when I saw Comic Sans font, but the game is ok.

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

#lonelyMac

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

Uh, not exactly that interesting a game. Sorry to be a downer.

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10am

I like the really high jump but I'm not sure how to do it or repeat it. There's a weird out-of-tune guitar song in a folder but not in the game. Very strange altogether.

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

Nice game. I hope to see you next LD with a new game using your engine.

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Well at first it does seem a bit plain, but after playing for a minute I noticed there are enough little physics/world interaction glitches that it becomes more fun trying to jump around and launch yourself in various directions. Could be fleshed out into a good platformer engine. Hooray for Kenney's art!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

I didn't understand what to do or how to do it. Couldn't replicate the high jump.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

Congrats on building the engine. (and esp in a real coding language) I kind of ran into a related problem myself. For my entry (48-hour), I only got to spend the last 3 hours on content! All the rest was bashing my head against the engine... on GameMaker no less. :) I feel your pain!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

I liked the graphic of the character, but no real complexity in the game though- But congrats on your new engine :-)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

I think our games star the same same main character! lol

3CGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

Nice-looking character. Good luck with using your engine next time!

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

Congrats on your engine. That's what I did too. :D Anyway, that character is really cute, so use it again ;)

lytedev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nothing telling me what to do or how to control my guy. Immediately got stuck in a pit. Repeat about 6 times. Came back looking for hints on how to play or get unstuck, something about a "high jump"? Couldn't figure out how to do it.

Engine is alright - collision detection is a little broken when moving left and you get caught between blocks. Needs some serious work, but the basics are there.

Keep working! Be sure to tell your player what they're doing in SOME way.

robodylan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

Just to clarify. I have made many great games before(not to brag or anything). It's the fact that I had literally no idea what to do is the reason it failed to become anything. The title literally means "Not Finished" in latin.

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49am

Really interesting graphics, but it seems like the collisions (or something) are a bit messed up.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

Got stuck immediately when I spawned. The engine could still use some fixing especially on the movement and the collisions but you have the basic idea. Goodluck!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

I couldn't get the game to run, error code: system.badimageformatexception

sylarisbest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16am

Liked the art but the physics are inconsistant. Sometimes I can't jump and sometimes I get stuck in the level geo.

MrJavaFrank says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Same as sylarisbest ... sometimes i couldn't walk anymore, sometimes i couldn't jump, or only a little bit, so i couldn't get to the next higher tile. I can go into left tiles, into the right tiles not. I really liked the graphics!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37pm

What is the purpose of this game?

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44pm

#lonelyMac #lonelyWebPlayer

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I couldn't get the game to run too, error code same as someone said above: system.badimageformatexception

Norfinel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52pm

I dont understand

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58pm

As an engine on which to base a game it's promising, though I'm not a fan of the AD-Space control scheme, mostly because I'm used to W being jump when AD are left/right.

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Good luck in the future!

mephisto says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

I cant jump high enough to climb blocks, so im stuck in the spawn area...

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Umm... unless someone tells how to do that legendary "high jump", I can't rate this game very highly, as I get stuck inside the pit to the left and don't know how to proceed. >.<

(remember, people, add even simple instructions to your games; it doesn't take too much time and allows the game... well, to be played)

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Altogether it seems strange. I just kept jumping around and I liked the odd high jump. Though it wasn't clear how to repeat it.

That said... looks like you have some solid ground to build on whenever you want to make a platformer.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:42pm

What a lovely astronaut potato :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]