Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Islands

by Donutttt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thanks for looking at my game. I'd really appreciate any feedback at all, so thank you in advance. Sorry for there only being a Windows version... I'm still stuck using fre Game Maker.

I hope you enjoy my game!

!!FOR BONUS POINTS PLEASE LEAVE YOUR SCORE IN THE COMMENTS!!

Tip -- Begin by placing houses and the nature blocks they need.


---Controls---
Space - Next Turn
H - Help
R - Restart

W, A, S, D/ Arrows - Move

Z - Place Factory/Tree
X - Place House/Water
C - Place Shop/Wheat

--------------

In this game you place blocks on the left island to earn points.

Islands are generated randomly so each game is different.

You alternate between placing industrial and natural blocks.

Different blocks have different needs. If a block's needs are not met it is destroyed at the end of the turn:

-Houses must be surrounded by two different types of natural blocks
-Factories must be surrounded by at least 4 houses
-Shops must be surrounded by at least 2 houses



Different blocks award different bonuses:

-Houses award 10 points each
-Factories award 50 points and allow 1 extra block per turn
-Shops award 10 points for each house in their surrounding area

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#374Innovation3.40
#709Overall3.06
#739Fun2.84
#820Theme2.84
#899Mood2.57
#975Graphics2.41

Comments

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13am

very nice Game! but its a bit too easy to win

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Bit difficult to understand, would have liked a play as you go tutorial but that's just me. Sound/Music would have been great. Different to the other games out there though! A little bit more polish and difficulty and I can see myself playing this more!

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

love the gameplay, simple and great theme!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Simple graphic and nice gameplay :) Really nice

Marcellus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I love this kind of game. good entry but a bit too easy. (try to add some sfx and music next time ;))

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I like the concept but it is really hard to understand it at first. A tutorial level would be good. Besides the AI wasn't really good. Also the window was too big for my screen and the bottom was cut off.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Nice job, though could be a bit harder. I noticed they're randomly generated. Nicely done :)

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:21pm

It was very easy to beat the AI, but I enjoyed the game very much!

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

My highscore was 21310 ^_^ The computer had about a quarter of it. Loving these cellular automata :) Simple concept to grasp, but great gameplay!

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I like the concept but it is really hard to understand it at first. A tutorial level would be good. Besides the AI wasn't really good. Also the window was too big for my screen and the bottom was cut off.

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Great game... very simple,, but good

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I like the idea, though it was quite hard to get at first. Obviously, better visuals and some audio would help.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Liked the style, took me a while to figure out the gameplay, but good job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Cool concept! It took some getting the hang of though

MacGeekPro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Love the simple visual theme.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19pm

A bit complicated, due to a lack of tutorial. Once I got it though, I found the concept clever. Good job on interpreting the theme.

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:12am

Cool concept. I think the fun in this kind of games is to figure out how it works. The tutorial is fine in my opinion. good work!

bob_fish says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

This was actually REALLY fun, the way to place things was a bit weird though and I often accidentally put the wrong thing in spots. I would have played this more if there was music and sound but in 48 hours, you did a great job!

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:10am

Not an easy game to get into, but interesting once figured out.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:10am

From the description I was expecting something more like cellular automata (Conway's Game of Life), but this is also good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]