Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soulmates

by Jiyambi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My last game (for LD29 "Beneath the Surface") was super depressing and dark, so I've come full circle. Soulmates is about as fluffy, sticky sweet, and happy a game as you can get.

My take on the theme: connect the worlds of two people who otherwise wouldn't have met. Essentially, you are cupid and you need to make sure two future love bird's eyes meet. It's a puzzle game inspired by Spry Fox's Road Not Taken, with very simple interactions with the environment to alter the course of the characters.

Controls:
- Click on objects in the environment to perform actions (knock over crates, open flowers).
- Click the right arrow ( -->) in the upper left corner to advance the characters along their paths.

Features:
- 9 mind-bending levels! (okay they are pretty easy)
- Toothache-inducing graphics and effects
- Sound effects from my own mouth, including some rather flat vocals
- More polish than gameplay
- Attempts at inclusivity in character design (yay!)
- Love and fun

Tools used:
- Unity2D (4.6 Beta)
- Inkscape
- Audacity

If you enjoyed the game, give me (@Jiyambi) and my dev team (@BounderGames) a follow on Twitter to see more of our stuff! We're also active #IndieDevHour participants :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Audio4.05
#21Overall4.09
#38Mood3.96
#51Graphics4.21
#79Fun3.79
#100Humor3.35
#236Innovation3.58
#310Theme3.58
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Tovip says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01am

Really Really enjoyed this one, the overall theme is extremely cute but so is the the sfx, music and art style.

I've been trying to leave advice on what people could do better but I honestly can't think of much other than it was hard to tell the paths apart when two people have the same hair color. good job!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

Very cool idea and design behind this.
I liked visuals a lot, could be a nifty mobile
game that works well with touch screens.

Rekedens says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Incredibly charming.

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

Sooooooo cute, also love puzzles so there you go. :D

staarland says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57pm

AWWW :D So Cute! Really love the concept, fits with the theme very nicely :) Gameplay is really nice, Audio is brilliant! Would love to see it taken futher

g0wen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Really lovely graphics and sounds. Pretty cool use of the theme too.

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Well polished and great sound. Maybe it will benefit from an in game tutorial. This game is screaming to be on mobile.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very cute puzzle game. Loved the graphics. Also agree it would make a great mobile game :)

0x0961h says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Very pretty game with great concept and visuals. I like it. :)

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

One of the most innovative entries I've played. Well done!

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Very cute and very polished :) Such a lovely game.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:11am

Nicely done! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Hi there. Very cutsie. Love the singing mixes and the graphical style/pathdrawing. Nice UI operation too. Good job!

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Yours has the same game title as mine. I loved the audio and mood of the whole game. The puzzles aren't very clever and hard, but this is a great fundament for something great. Good job!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Well done, very enjoyable :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great visuals, sound, and a game design clever and original that could be expanded to be even more challenging if you wanted.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:17am

Nice entry! It has cute graphics and a cool gameplay. Also, the music is good :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]