Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Yarrr

by dix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It lacks a lot of things, but I'm done for today with it, and the time is up!
So here it is Planet Yarrr!
In a system where all planets are trading with each other, but the united federation of planets took your planet out of the tradings, you must help your planet by being a pirate and attacking cargos from other planets!
Watch out for the space-police tho!

Turn the ship with A and D, move forward with W and shoot with Spacebar.
Oh!and click on the title and gameover screen :D


This is my third attempt at the ludum dare, but i couldn't get around the theme last time.
So I'm pretty much quite happy as it is, even if the game lacks music and funny stuff :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#777Graphics2.76
#904Fun2.63
#961Mood2.47
#965Theme2.56
#1015Overall2.69
#1067Innovation2.35
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

A cute game, but I did get lost when I started. Once I knew where everything was I was able to putter about laying waste to my enemies for profit! Though there is no way to die I see as I lost 200% of my health and was okay. Ah, the life of a space pirate.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14am

Nice little game.
The text looks a bit blurry.
Sounds would have added a lot to the experience.

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Good game.
Would be better with sound and less void ;)

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Good game, easy to play. Would be nice to have some reverse thrusters :)

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

On Windows7/Chrome: Downloaded jar open splash screen then crashes, and web version never loads.

dix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:37am

@Boberro, weird to my tester-friends works fine, does it give any crash report?

havana24 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:23am

Good game! I think you should add arrow keys instead of WASD!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Nice!

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice little game! With a little of sound & a background starfield it will be perfect :D

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

Had fun playing this game!
Well done!

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:14am

maybe space police + not blowing up enemies but hijacking them for profit would be welcome.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:37pm

It is very easy to get lost if you fly out of sight of any planets! (but then the same could be said of my game too)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]