Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Liebyrinth

by SketchyGalore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

------
IMPORTANT NOTE: Due to a compiler incompatibility, IE and Firefox handle random generation for this game incorrectly. The game will run (albeit with extra glitches in Firefox), but it will not generate mazes properly. PLEASE USE CHROME OR DOWNLOAD THE WINDOWS BINARY!
------

Liebyrinth, the Land of Untruthful Mazes!

Liebyrinth is a maze "spot the difference" puzzle game featuring simple procedurally generated mazes. The goal is simple: reach the flag at the end of each level, using the arrow keys (or WASD) to control your character.

The twist in Liebyrinth is that not all walls are telling the truth! Three additional "mirrored world" mazes will be displayed in addition to the original maze. If one of the walls is not present in one of the other worlds, the wall is fake and can be removed simply by walking through it. Can you expose all the Liebyrinth's lies?

Pressing "E" any time after the tutorial level will activate "Expert Mode", which will truly test your map-reading skills! I highly recommended that you give both modes a try!

Liebyrinth was made by Evan Good for the Ludum Dare 30 48-hour game development competition. The theme was "Connected Worlds", which I used as the idea behind the four connected maze "worlds". This was my second ever attempt at the LD after participating in LD 28. I hope you enjoy my game! Thank you for taking a look and good luck to all the other developers!

Liebyrinth was developed using the following tools/resources:
GameMaker Studio Pro 1.3 (with HTML5 export add-on)
BFXR/SFXR sound generator
Audacity audio editor

All levels are randomly generated by a script written from scratch for the Ludum Dare 30 competition. No pre-existing code libraries or other assets were used.

Liebyrinth is available as an HTML5 browser game and as a standalone .exe file (no installation necessary). Both are nearly identical, though the Windows file has slightly smoother text and animations. If you're experiencing slowdowns in the HTML5 version, I recommend giving the Windows version a try.

Known issues:
- Rarely, some puzzles will be solveable without removing fake walls (this does not include the tutorial puzzle, which has none!)
- After two attempts at LD, I've opted not to put music in my game. I'm no musician, and I'd rather have silence than hurt your ears with a randomly generated midi file!
- Depending on your browser settings, the .exe file download may be rejected with a "malicious" warning. Chrome doesn't like the idea of random .exe files by default!
- It's been reported that the web version doesn't work well on Firefox (most likely due to the compiler). Additionally, I tested it in IE and half of the mazes appeared to be missing. If you get this error, please try the Chrome or Windows version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#81Innovation3.94
#160Humor3.13
#179Theme3.76
#289Fun3.38
#372Overall3.39
#441Audio2.87
#642Mood2.88
#897Graphics2.54

Comments

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

Very cool concept. It hurt my brain a little bit to figure out who was lying.

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

A demanding and amazingly fun game!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37am

The graphics actually works real nice with this!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Neat idea, gets a little tricky but I like it :)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Wow, very nice concept! Like it :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Good concept and connected to the theme. The difficulty ramps up quite nicely but at all punishing (from what I could tell there was no 'game over').

Graphically simple but clean, though a few times I mistook the flags pole for a wall on every screen.

Runs like crap on Firefox, only really works on Chrome (though that's likely Gamemakers HTML5 exports fault), so I can't deduct anything for that ;)

iMer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Have to admit, this is really good - I didnt expect it to be this catchy

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47pm

@GeeItSomeLaldy Thanks for the heads up. I didn't test it on anything but Chrome, so I'll put it in the known issues!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39pm

All right, this is punishing further on! Nice work!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Very cool idea and well exucuted

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Expert mode is really nice. Good Job.

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Great puzzle idea & challenging too.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11am

The feeling when you play is great the sounds are perfect. I prefered to just walk in there bumping every walls than thinking about where to go cause the feeling : i like it. Bumping into walls. Good job.

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52am

The lies!!!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I gave you great marks on innovation here. This is a very cool game. So hard to move in line with the other mazes, but that was the fun part! Nice job.

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very interesting concept.

Squidtank says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:06am

Hah! Incredibly clever, and very fun. Great work!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:16am

Fun and easy-to-pick-up gameplay, good use of the theme. Spent way too much time playing this than what's justifiable.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:08am

Loved the concept of it!

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:58pm

This is simply awesome. Great concept, implemented well and surprisingly addictive. Expert mode is super hard, but I had plenty of fun in the normal one :) The simple, quiet sounds worked well.

ConciseBit says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Unlimited supply of mazes and fun!
it was satisfying in that it is challenging but solvable

Good job

Cosmologicon says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Very innovative. Well executed. I have to admit it was not as hard as I expected. I made it through 16 straight levels on Expert without making any mistakes. It's just a matter of figuring out which board shows the clearest path most of the way or all the way to the flag. Some tweaking of the maze generation could increase the difficulty a bit.

rantt says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:39am

Cool concept, really had to think about the 4 mazes so it wasn't all trial and error. Fun game, nicely done :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]