Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gimbal Fighter

by kumoi - Jam Entry

During a discussion about Gimbal-Lock, we came up with the idea of a bubble-fighter style spaceship which could navigate space with a rotating cockpit.

The Story:
==================
The Galactic Order of Federated Systems is losing the war against an invading fleet of spaceships. The enemy is hindering supply lines by destroying warp gates throughout the system. In order to re-establish communication and advance the enemy lines, you have been tasked to fly with an experimental point-to-point jump module into enemy territory, deploy and defend warp gates and escort our troops and supplies. Your Zero class Gimbal Fighter is agile, fast and devastating in the right hands.
Good luck, and godspeed.

Admiral Reginald B. Dingus
Galactic Order of Federated Systems



How to Play:
==================
Escape: Pause
W:Forward
A:Strafe Left
S:Backward
D:Strafe Right
Q:Roll Left
E:Roll Right
Ctrl:Float Down
Space:Float Up
Mouse Move: Rotate ship (Yaw & Pitch)
1: Select Rapid Blaster weapon
--Left Mouse to shoot, hold for continuous fire
2: Select Lance Beam
--Hold Left Mouse to Charge, release after charge to fire
--------
Right Mouse Button: While held down, allows cockpit to freely rotate (with mouse movement) to engage enemies without modifying ship course.
--------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#330Fun(Jam)3.12
#382Graphics(Jam)3.38
#410Mood(Jam)3.04
#486Audio(Jam)2.76
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#515Overall(Jam)3.02
#559Humor(Jam)1.86
#710Theme(Jam)2.06

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19am

Cool little space shooter. I didn't really see any of the screenshot art in the game though? Maybe I wasn't skilled enough. Mouse sensitivity could be turned up a bit too.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24am

a linux build would be nice

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24am

Controls felt nice and the graphics were good. The combat felt redundant after awhile though. Nice controls for a space combat game, maybe you can add more post jam :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24am

Beautiful game, totally reminiscent of Descent, but with some really cool features.

Ervin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25am

Nice models - just missing some textures :).

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27am

i really had no idea what was going on. sorry if i sound dumb. just didnt get it

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28am

Pretty graphics, and fun to fly around :) Good work!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29am

Very cool! I don't have an Oculus sadly (but I have developed for it) and I can imagine it working really well at the same time as making the player feel very motion sick! Nice entry!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29am

This was pretty fun to fly around in. I'll definitely have to check it out on the Rift later :)

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

Great work! It was very immersive- the cockpit visuals were a nice touch. I didn't see any sort of win screen when I killed anything... perhaps I missed something?

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

The spinning control pod with right click is a cool idea, so you can shoot behind yourself as you fly along. Shooting down enemy ships (I am guessing the goal is destroying all the red guns) took a long time though, since the guns take so many hits, or one hit each with the slow gun.

I ran into some issue where if I switched out of the window and back, my mouse cursor appeared, and even going to fullscreen mode after that did not recapture the mouse cursor. As a result I could not play very well after that, since turning was too slow and/or the moue would escape.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46am

I liked that chargable beam, felt really cool :) Model of the ship in main menu also looks cool. Other stuff lacks polish, I guess. Are there winning conditions? I think I destroyed all the enemy guns but nothing happened.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49am

Favorite part of this is definitely the second weapon XD. That sound, and it bouncing off, ships, is great.
The concept is cool however I don't think it really benefits this gameplay, especially when in a cockpit view, I ended up not really understanding exactly how using the different controls really effected my movement-or rather it didn't feel necessary for what we were asked to do so it felt clunky. Also regrettably nothing felt satisfying because it was just kind of like 'okay well all those turrets on the ship are gone...An explosion or at least the ship being destroyed after the turrets were gone would have really helped with that.
Main suggestions would be additional enemies that made the unique movement method relevant, improving feedback when getting attacked/taking damage (the enemies bullets made it hard to tell when I was being hit short of seeing that ship icon on the left going red), and making victory over enemies more satisfying (e.g. explosion, etc).

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14am

Reminded me of Tie Fighter. Great mood.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Nice clean little shooter. Liked the enemy ships and good controls, hectic first impression among all the lasers though the combat got bit stale after a while. at first I thought my trail was actually left by some other enemy or ally moving around in the scene.

slumber says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:17am

great entry, reminds me alot of starfox. you should work on getting that art in the game and repost so i can play it again!

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:33am

cool game, really nicely crafted. My only critique is that I wish the UI of the ship took up less space so I could see more . Great work!

rRootagea says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11am

Couldn't find any warp gates but that lance weapon, man!

chas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50am

Wow -- a space fighter! Nice modeling!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29am

Ah, this takes me back to the days of X-wing. Really great work! Art style works well too.

sephyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45am

Wow, a 3D Unity shooter Entry. Ambitious!
Awesome immersive playability
It might be great with more textures work.
Love the second weapons and its sound!!!

lolofinil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22am

Like your concept art :P

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nice movement handling, i like it. But is it open end?

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01pm

VEry solid entry. I would have loved to get a better visual of the fighter in action (other than just sitting in the cockpit). It feels a bit unfinished, but with a little polish you could make this into a very nice space shooter! Also, what's the deal with the concept art? Did you make that too? It's pretty amazing :)

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:42am

Fun the fly around in, good feel to it.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:17am

Definitely a cool little space fighter game. Could use better feedback - when were you hit? When did you hit the enemy? How close are you to blowing up? Where are the remaining enemies?

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

I like the feeling of scale flying next to the big ships can provide.

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:47am

i play both versions, pretty cool the post compo, it shows where you want to go.

good work!

Dohan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Great concept that only seems to lack a win condition. The graphics are pretty even without the shaders. The sound effects are very cool, specially the lance bean (it feels really powerful).

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Drive this ship is good! I loved the rotate mode.
It's easy to destroy enemy's guns, but I didn't get what is the objective of this game.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:47pm

good game

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:06am

Fun concept though gameplay lacked feedback. Only way I could tell I was getting hit was after I died.

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:13am

Decently fun to fly, shooting got old quickly :/

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:01am

+Overall +Graphics +Fun

Really really liked this!

I think it would have been easier to control if you'd used both arrow keys as well as WASD controls, not unlike I tried in my LD28 and LD24 entries.

This really is the kind of game I was trying to make in LD28 and 24 actually :)

Super gorgeous. +Potential :)

01101101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:44am

A good Descent feeling. It's been a long time;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]