Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Icarus Crisis

by rojo - Jam Entry

=



==================================================
HOW TO PLAY
========================

Controls
------------------------
Move Camera: ESDF / Arrow Keys
Interact / Select: Left Mouse Button


Video Tutorial
------------------------
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/26/how-to-play-icarus-crisis/


QUICK TIPS
------------------------
*Click highlighted tiles to deploy / move.
*Complete missions at right of screen to win. Missions can be found on the board by finding the ! icon with the matching color. When completed successfully, missions give you keys which are tracked by the blue icon in the upper left. You need these to win.
*When rolling dice you can lock / unlock as many dice as you want by clicking on them. You get 3 rolls to meet the event's win condition, shown at the top of the screen. You must lock dice for them to apply to the event.
*If missions are too hard (i.e. you don't have enough dice) move to non mission tiles and successfully complete Exploration events to power up.
*If an agent dies they will be replaced by a new agent next turn.
*If the green counter in the upper left fills up, you lose.


Known Bugs
------------------------
*Attacking the red enemies that show up on the map doesn't destroy them. It's best to just avoid them. Sorry!






WHAT IS IT?
========================
Icarus Crisis is a turn based strategy experience with roots in board games. Many of the game's elements are randomized, ensuring that no two playthroughs are quite the same. Can you hold back the Formless and permanently close the last remaining Icarus Gate in time?

You can play with up to 2 other people by passing the KB / Mouse.


NOTES
========================
*Requires at least 1280x720 pixels of screen space to play.
*16:9 or 16:10 aspect ratio monitor required for full screen.


ABOUT
=========================
I created this game solo.

Tools Used: Unity 4.6 beta, FL Studio, sfxr, Audacity, Photoshop, Blender

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#87Innovation(Jam)3.68
#100Overall(Jam)3.69
#266Mood(Jam)3.31
#289Fun(Jam)3.20
#329Audio(Jam)3.19
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#423Graphics(Jam)3.29
#496Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Man, what a blast this was to play! I think it's got real potential to be expanded into a full release. Plus I'm super super happy to see such an innovative approach to a jam like this. Outstanding!

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Run on Linux and worked.
Movement keys are a bit confusing, EDSF?

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Interesting idea. Took a few rounds to get the hang of it but eventually made sense. Never got to close the gate, as I ran out of time, but it was interesting while it lasted. Graphics are nice, and sound fits it pretty well. Good game overall.

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11am

Regarding ESDF: think about where you hands naturally sit on an English keyboard and you'll see why it's better than WASD (for people on those keyboards)

BlackBird says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58am

I was unable to vote since I did not finish my entry, I gave up after I felt like I could not connect worlds well enough to really show off the theme. Anyways, I wrote down my thoughts and hopefully this proves more useful to you, I know I always preferred hearing about the players experience. http://www.timbeaudet.com/blog/2014/08/27/game-review-ld30-game-icarus-crisis/

pansapiens says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:06am

Once I figured it out, I quite enjoyed this - definitely one to keep fleshing out & polishing.

I watched the tutorial video, and maybe I wasn't giving it my full attention, maybe I don't play enough board games, or maybe I'm just slow, but I still didn't quite get it.

---
Here's my what I learned in my own words, in case it helps someone else get started:

The key realization I needed to make was that it's like a poker machine or slot machine where you can lock columns. After I realized that the key mechanic made sense !

* The top panel with the three white dice shows how many dice of each "picture type" you need to win. The picture types are the "hit" (*), "perception" (@) and "chance" (?).

* To commit a die, you 'lock' them by clicking on one of the colored versions in the bottom panel (you'll see the numbers in the top panel change eg 0/3 change to 1/3 ).
Any _unlocked_ die randomly change to another picture type ('hit', 'perception' or 'chance') each roll (this is just like locking positions on a slot machine and pulling the handle for a second chance).

* The probability of getting a particular picture when rolling the unlocked dice is determined by the color (see small not between top and bottom panels).

(Also, in case it wasn't obvious, after your third roll, when the button changes to "Continue", you can still commit dice to the encounter and win it - this should probably be "auto win" if you happen to be holding the right dice after that third roll, since accidentally pressing continue when you should have effectively won is annoying).

* When moving your soldiers around the map, the numbers on each tile indicate it's difficulty.

All of this would probably be more obvious if there was an actual 3D dice rolling animation, or a slot machine roll over effect - but hey, can't do everything in 72 hours !

Tip: Make sure you do exploration (non-mission) tiles to build up your dice (you'll probably need at least one soldier with 8), else you won't be able to beat the final mission (and I was so close !).

Extra points for not making the back story involve zombies !
(However, if humans themselves constructed the Icarus Gate, why does it have alien looking runes on it. Just sayin' :) )

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:22am

pansapiens - Hey, thanks for the write up! You're correct about everything except the numbers on the tiles. They don't actually indicate difficulty, they're just used for when you initially deploy a soldier. A roll between 1 and 6 is made, and you can deploy on any tiles with the number matching your roll. Sorry for the confusion!

vogon101 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Nice game

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:13am

Interesting game , i was very confused at first tho :D I like it.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:13am

interesting board game!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:21am

That was really fun! Great mechanic, the looping music surprisingly wasn't irritating, sounds otherwise were good - I got hooked. Definitely playing this again. Well done!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23am

I loved this game- I even managed to get a "Victory" :-)
I had a problem understanding the formless ones. It seemed they didn't really attack, and when I attack (and defeat them) they didn't dissapear, so I eventually ignored them and just went out getting dice pools and completing objectives.
I loved this game, and was entertained all way through- There's definitely potential in this game. Good work!

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35am

Mekuri - Sounds like you may have found a bug. Sorry about that! Glad you were able to win regardless.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:05am

At the beginning I was rather confused, but once I got the grasp of it, it became rather enjoyable. One of characters got 11 dice, making him nearly unstoppable. Overall, one of the better entries I've got pleasure playing from the games sent here.

(though I didn't really like how I had to wait some time between switching turns and such; maybe reduce it a bit or allow the messages to be skipped early? ^^")

dtruby says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:36am

This is very cool. If I have one suggestion, it's to constrain the camera so the map is always on screen. Not that it really matters :P. I liked the parallax effects a lot.
- Qualia

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

After I figured things out on my first playthrough the second playthrough was really fun. And while I never really felt threatened to lose I did let 7 Formless through. Some gripes though.
If you kill a Formless, then they should disappear and have to be respawned just like your party.
You should be able to see the entire board on screen at once. Either as the default view or by allowing the player to zoom out. It would give a more board game feel.
A suggestion too, have the map randomly change shape. Keep it dense and connected, just not always a hexagon.

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I think my two biggest pieces of feedback that would help make this better would be 1) don't let me go to a mission where I don't have enough dice to win. I kept doing that on accident because I wasn't clear on the UI for needed dice or whatever, and it's really frustrating. 2) In a lot of dice combat games like this (like Eldritch Horror, for example) you often get things that let you make meaningful trade-offs when you are in a situation where your roll is destined to fail, like rerolls or +1s or whatever. Something like that would really help alleviate the frustration when you lose on your second roll and still have to keep rolling. I didn't understand the value of ambushes, I was just frustrated that I lost an opportunity to find more dice. Similarly I valued finding dice over medkits, so a medkit ended up being disappointing as well. Overall I like the mechanic of rolling and choosing which dice of which pools to keep based on the probabilities, i thought that was a fun choice. I also thought that if I fought a dude it would make my counter go down, but apparently not! Nice work overall!

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

As others have said, quite a lot of fun once I figured out how the whole dice-roll thing worked. My biggest gripe is the keyboard controls, I kept being confused because I couldn't move around and then I realized I needed to use ESDF. But a cool mechanic that definately kept me paying attention and engaged for quite a long time, so good job overall. Impressive work for 72 hours.

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Honestly loved it! Addictive, and a little bit hard though. I almost wish I had a similar idea.

ClownAround says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:12am

Very good. Like the concept. Kudos for going board game style.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Seems confusing at first but once you get used to it, it becomes a very interesting game to play. I actually like how you can choose to either 'grind' for extra dice to make those important missions easier to complete or decide to fight off the enemies and delay your pending demise (although it's a shame that combat is a bugged at the moment as you mentioned). My only problem is that the view of the game map is a bit too zoomed in and there doesn't seem to be any option to zoom in and out of the map.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]